PDA

View Full Version : Will Powermac RAM work in an imac?


vwcruisn
Jul 4, 2003, 10:38 PM
I have a dual 533 G4 Powermac, and my girlfriend has an G4 800 flat panel imac. Does anyone know if my RAM will work in her imac? I have a lot and want to give her some.

Thanks.
Jason

vniow
Jul 4, 2003, 10:42 PM
Not unless you want to void the warranty by taking the entire bottom off and replacing the full-size stick in there, the user accessable slot is smaller, notebook sized memory.

iJon
Jul 4, 2003, 10:48 PM
yeah youll have to take it to an authorized dealer to ahve it done. its probably more cost effectient to buy a new stick of ram and install it yourself.

iJon

solvs
Jul 5, 2003, 12:05 AM
The 533 uses PC133 SDRAM. The 800 iMac uses a PC133 SO-DIMM. They're different. There is one user upgradable slot in the iMac, and one that can be upgraded, but it's more difficult to do. If you just want to add RAM to her iMac, got to someplace like OWC (http://eshop.macsales.com/) and buy the matching RAM. If you want to max out the RAM (both slots) or don't feel very confident in your computer skills, then take it to a Mac shop.