PDA

View Full Version : Using a Linksys wireless router with iMac G3 or G4?




Cindynjgirl79
Jun 17, 2007, 02:49 PM
i really want a new iMac but can't afford it right now. so i was thinking of getting an older iMac to replace the pc we have now. if i do do this can i use the wireless router that i have now with an iMac G3 or G4?



dvenardos
Jun 17, 2007, 03:53 PM
An aiport card will work just fine with a Linksys wireless router.

Cindynjgirl79
Jun 17, 2007, 04:32 PM
but do i really need an airport card?

Flyinace2000
Jun 19, 2007, 07:38 AM
but do i really need an airport card?

If you want the wireless to be an internal component, yes. Another opton is to get a USB wireless adapter that is known to work and be recognized as an Airport. There are a few out there. I don't remember off the top of my head. I know i used to use a d-link back in the day that was seen as a native Airport card by OSX.

dex22
Jun 19, 2007, 02:20 PM
Misunderstanding alert:

Yes, the mac mini will work great with a Linksys wireless router.

The mac mini has to have inbuilt airport wireless - you just need to check it has that when you buy it.

Any wireless on any mac is always called 'airport' - no matter who supplied the parts.

Hope this helps...

Rollershapple
Jun 19, 2007, 03:43 PM
Misunderstanding alert:

Yes, the mac mini will work great with a Linksys wireless router.

The mac mini has to have inbuilt airport wireless - you just need to check it has that when you buy it.

Any wireless on any mac is always called 'airport' - no matter who supplied the parts.

Hope this helps...

Hes askin about an iMac not a mac mini. Sorry for correcting you =D

SteveG4Cube
Jun 19, 2007, 05:33 PM
Hes askin about an iMac not a mac mini. Sorry for correcting you =D

"He" is a she. Sorry for correcting you ;)