PDA

View Full Version : G5 + 30" monitor




moochoo
Jun 18, 2007, 12:04 PM
I have a G5 with a radeon 9600. i am wanting to run a dell 30" monitor im assuming i need to upgrade the graphics card for this

what are my options on the G5 to run this monitor?



TheFuzz
Jun 18, 2007, 12:07 PM
i'm not sure if the 9600 will run the 30", but this (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/ATI%20Technologies/100435854/) will. i'm pretty sure it's the best upgrade out for the g5's.

TheFuzz
Jun 18, 2007, 12:09 PM
actually, it says here (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/ATI%20Technologies/100435065/) that the 9600 should power a 30" ACD, so you may not need to switch. also, you'd need a G5 w/ PCIe to run the x1900.

moochoo
Jun 18, 2007, 12:17 PM
i dont have the pro version though :s

i was hoping there was a cheaper option as once you add on the cost of the screen this is a very expensive upgrade

TheFuzz
Jun 18, 2007, 12:27 PM
well it looks like the 9600 pro is the cheapest from owc.

you could try ebay (http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?from=R40&_trksid=m37&satitle=ati+9600+pro+mac&category0=)