View Full Version : SCAM or KIZAM!!!
skierdude
Jun 25, 2007, 01:31 PM
http://www.usa-stars-store.com/product_info.php?product_id=4153&categorie=2
do u guys think that this is a scam?
thanks
yellow
Jun 25, 2007, 01:33 PM
Scam.
If it appears too good to be true, odds are that it is.
No one will sell a "current" laptop for $500.
And this:
All opened returns are subject to a 15% restocking fee, If the the condition of goods and packaging material are not 100% complete and in mint condition we reserve the right to increase the restocking fee
Which is to say.. they ship you a busted laptop for $500. It doesn't work and you send it back (on your dime), and they hit you with a 15% restocking fee, and then say, well it's not mint, so it's going to be +15% more. Oh sorry, we're out of stock on this now. They just scammed you for $150 without even trying.
wongulous
Jun 25, 2007, 01:34 PM
Scam.
scaredpoet
Jun 25, 2007, 02:46 PM
This site has all the warning signs of a scam:
1. Semi-current model, brand new item at far below standard prices from legit retailers. Apple just doesn't allow this.
2. The site only accepts payment by money orders or western union. It does NOT accept credit cards. That means they'll cash your money order, and good luck ever seeing your merchandise or your money ever again!
3. Look at the contact page (http://www.usa-stars-store.com/contact_us.php). They have a toll free number you can use to call if there are any questions. if you call that number, you get a generic voicemail box. It doesn't even have a greeting to let you know what business you've reached. This is the sign of a real amateurish scam job: the better ones at least have SOMEONE answering a phone, even if that person does sound obviously shady.
4. Their posted business address (http://www.usa-stars-store.com/contact_us.php) - 1800 W Flagler St in Miami, FL - also happens to be the address of an auto repair shop called Oasis Transmissions (http://www.thecityofmiami.com/auto/auto-transmission.html). Assuming the owner of this auto shop even knows his address is being used for this scam, would you feel that buying a brand new MacBook from an auto mechanic is appropriate? Something tells me that he's not an authorized Apple dealer. ;)
It's a definite scam. Somewhere, someone got a web-retailer-in-a-box package, threw it up on the web and is collecting money orders from gullible buyers thinking they got a great deal, without ever intending to fulfill those orders.
vBulletin® v3.6.10, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.