Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Earendil

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 27, 2003
Washington
But go easy, I'm a Photographer, but my major is computer science ;-)

I'm somewhat set on the image background, as it really applies to the area that I'm working in. I'm shooting entirely none team based sports photos for people (windsurfing, Mt. Biking, etc). Also, this is a really informal "company", and my first card. I'm making the card mostly because every so often I've had to write my info on a piece of paper for someone, and would love to just hand them a card.

However, as far as design goes, I don't know how the set up "feels", or how to make it feel any better. Thoughts on font/spacing contrast/fading of background image, and drop shadows would be greatly appreciated. Or on anything else that comes to mind.

Sometimes when you work with an image long enough your brain can fill in the details that others can not see. So I'm looking for a fresh perspective :)

Thanks everyone!

~Tyler

ps
even now I'm thinking I need to pull the info away from the edges a bit...

puckhead193

macrumors G3
May 25, 2004
NY
If i saw your card, i wouldn't think of the sports you mentioned b/c of the background... but that's just me. :eek:

mariahlullaby

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2005
NYC
1) I hope that isn't your real cell on the card, otherwise take it off to protect yourself.
2) I'd add your full name somewhere on that card, as well as perhaps some of the specialized services you offer
3) Design-wise, a simple B&W approach can be great, but I feel like yours looks more just monochromatic. I'd make the contrast on the photo a lot sharper/bolder colors. Then write the text in white with a little drop shadow to stand out.

Good luck!

tyr2

macrumors 6502a
May 6, 2006
Leeds, UK
I'd ease up on the drop shadows a bit, especially on the text at the bottom.