PDA

View Full Version : Getting my 360 to run in HD???




erkanasu
Jul 2, 2007, 02:18 PM
So my new TV just came in:
http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-REGZA-32HL67U-720p-HDTV/dp/B000MXYCU4/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-0809991-3520131?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1183403668&sr=8-1

I bought the VGA cable as was recommended to me on these forums (so I could run it in 720p, games and movies)

The TV has a PC input, but when I try to set the 360 at a res higher than 1024X760 or whatever it is, I get an unsupported resolution message on my TV screen. After reading the manual, it says the PC input res only goes up to 1024x760. So ****. Is there a way to over ride this? OR will I now have to but a New DVD player if I want upconversion to 720p(for movies) and then buy the highdef 360 componenet cables for games???



risc
Jul 2, 2007, 03:17 PM
I am pretty sure the Xbox 360 VGA kit supports 1366x768 video. Since that is the native resolution of your TV you should try that.

erkanasu
Jul 2, 2007, 03:23 PM
I am pretty sure the Xbox 360 VGA kit supports 1366x768 video. Since that is the native resolution of your TV you should try that.

I did try that and it went black then said Not Supported on the TV

zero2dash
Jul 2, 2007, 03:25 PM
I am pretty sure the Xbox 360 VGA kit supports 1366x768 video. Since that is the native resolution of your TV you should try that.

After reading the manual, it says the PC input res only goes up to 1024x760.

risc, his TV doesn't support anything higher than 1024x760. :D :p guess you missed that in his post ;)

erkanasu, your tv resolution is pretty shotty through VGA. Your probable best bet is either component cables or this (http://www.joystiq.com/2007/06/25/third-party-hdmi-cable-coming-for-non-elite-xbox-360/) 3rd party HDMI cable that will reportedly work on all 360s (not just Elites) when it is released in about 4 weeks. The jury's still out on that HDMI cable though; it could work like a charm and be the greatest things since sliced bread, or it could be full of broken promises and BS.

I'd say your best bet is to use component cables with what you have for the time being, and depending on how that HDMI cable works in a month, maybe pick up one of those. Through component cables you'll be able to display your 720p, but as for upscaled dvds, you're not going to see that with what you have right now. Again, hopefully that HDMI 3rd party cable comes out and works, but otherwise - your tv's resolution through vga is obviously too low to display the 720p (which is obviously 1280x720).

risc
Jul 2, 2007, 03:29 PM
Sorry, I didn't see that bit about VGA. If that is true though seriously return the TV that is garbage!

greatdevourer
Jul 2, 2007, 04:24 PM
Sorry, I didn't see that bit about VGA. If that is true though seriously return the TV that is garbage! I'm with this guy - you've been had, matey

erkanasu
Jul 2, 2007, 04:28 PM
Wow. Well the TV got great reviews and looks fantastic otherwise. I only spent $750 on a beautiful 32", that aint bad. Not worth returning.

2nyRiggz
Jul 3, 2007, 07:17 AM
Looks like your tv can only output in that res in VGA but if you try component/HDMI cables you might get 720p(if that is the same tv you linked us to)

If that is the TV you got and you are not able to watch HDTV/HD gaming then you got rip the hell off my friend...return it...there are cheaper HDTVs with 1080i output...think about it.


Bless

sarcosis
Jul 3, 2007, 08:51 AM
You are going to want to hook up via Component Cables. I have mine hooked up that way and it looks amazing in 1080i. I was running 720p but recently bumped the resolution up. Seems you got one of the cheaper tv's. Nothing is wrong with that. Mine does the same thing. I usually run 1024 x 768. I've accepted the fact that it runs at that resolution, though sometimes i can get it in 1366 x X what ever the resolution is. Everything else HD works fine for me and i'm content. That and i paid about $400 less than i would have if i got something else. So i'm content before i get flamed.

erkanasu
Jul 3, 2007, 12:58 PM
Ya that is the TV i bought.

I have the 360 hooked up through component now running 1080i, looks amazing! So yeah I got ****ed in the VGA department, but oh well I guess. I went out and bought a toshiba dvd player last nite with upconverting and bought a HDMI cable on amazon, the cable was only $1.98!!!!! versus ****ing $50 from best buy! Haha i just checked, now they are only $.99!!!! What the hell!?!? http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Feet-Super-Resolution-Cable/dp/B0002L5R78/ref=pd_bbs_1/102-0809991-3520131?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1183485493&sr=8-1