PDA

View Full Version : Mounting network drives with Apple Script, sometimes fail




techmonkey
Jul 4, 2007, 10:53 PM
I am using Apple Script to mount various network shares on my WinXP computer. Sometimes the connection fails, but if I run it again it works. Any ideas who I can figure out why the failure?

Here is the code I am using.

mount volume "smb://WORKGROUPNAME;COMPUTERNAME/My Pictures"

The error I get sometimes is

An error of type -36 has occurred.

BTW, I tried using Automator to do this, but the space in "My Pictures" kept screwing Automator up and it would never connect.



MongoTheGeek
Jul 5, 2007, 07:22 AM
I have a bug report in on it. I know others do as well. The more bug reports they see the more likely it is to get done.

techmonkey
Jul 5, 2007, 07:58 AM
I have a bug report in on it. I know others do as well. The more bug reports they see the more likely it is to get done.

This is my first Mac, whats the best way to report a bug?

MongoTheGeek
Jul 5, 2007, 08:56 AM
This is my first Mac, whats the best way to report a bug?

Its kinda hidden. First of all you have to sign up as a developer (free account) then goto.

http://bugreport.apple.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/RadarWeb.woa

they have forms and instructions.