PDA

View Full Version : Memory for Rev D iMac?


Horrortaxi
Jul 21, 2003, 02:36 AM
I just bought my mom a Rev D (Strawberry) iMac. She doesn't know I'm switching her, but at age 74 who has time to mess with Wndows? Anyway, it currently has 64MB RAM and I want her to use OS X for the ease of use factor. Before anybody says anything, yes I know it'll run on the slow side. All she uses her computer for is email, web surfing, writing letters, scanning, and printing. So even a slow computer will be okay. Anway, I do want to max out the RAM but I'm confused about where it maxes out. Lowendmac.com says it varies from machine to machine--some max at 384 and others will do 640 depending on whether a particular machine will recognize a 256 chip. Does anybody have any further information on this? Real world experience? Anything?

Nermal
Jul 21, 2003, 04:05 AM
According to http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=43099 it maxes out at 512 MB, and appears to take a single 512 stick (I'm unsure about this, don't the iMacs have two memory slots?)

Horrortaxi
Jul 21, 2003, 09:24 AM
That's a different model. This one here (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=43101) is it.

Apple says it maxes out at 128MB, but isn't there an upper and lower location for memory--with the lower being the one that the user can put memory into? I had one of these open once and that's how I remember it. I guess the question then is will the upper slot take a 256MB chip?

britboy
Jul 21, 2003, 10:04 AM
According to apple-history.com (http://www.apple-history.com), the Rev. D iMac maxes out at 256 MB RAM.

That would be sufficient to run OS X, but it's going to rather slow. Mind you, at 74 I don't know that that would be a problem :)

Horrortaxi
Jul 21, 2003, 11:34 PM
Originally posted by britboy
That would be sufficient to run OS X, but it's going to rather slow. Mind you, at 74 I don't know that that would be a problem :)

Exactly! :)

strider42
Jul 22, 2003, 12:02 AM
Originally posted by Horrortaxi
That's a different model. This one here (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=43101) is it.

Apple says it maxes out at 128MB, but isn't there an upper and lower location for memory--with the lower being the one that the user can put memory into? I had one of these open once and that's how I remember it. I guess the question then is will the upper slot take a 256MB chip?

the upper slot will easily take a 256 meg chip. the lower slot wlll take one two if its low profile. crucial only sells low profile chips. I promise it will work. 512 is the max. Apple specs are published with whats available at the time and never updated again. You can safely ignore them. The only thing limiting it form taking more is the size ram chips available.

The upper slot is the user accesible one. the other one you can get at, but you have to pull up the processor card to get at it.

strider42
Jul 22, 2003, 12:03 AM
Originally posted by Horrortaxi
That's a different model. This one here (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=43101) is it.

Apple says it maxes out at 128MB, but isn't there an upper and lower location for memory--with the lower being the one that the user can put memory into? I had one of these open once and that's how I remember it. I guess the question then is will the upper slot take a 256MB chip?

the upper slot will easily take a 256 meg chip. the lower slot wlll take one two if its low profile. crucial only sells low profile chips. I promise it will work. 512 is the max. Apple specs are published with whats available at the time and never updated again. You can safely ignore them. The only thing limiting it form taking more is the size ram chips available.

Horrortaxi
Jul 23, 2003, 02:13 AM
Thanks for all the help. I think I have the memory situation taken care of now. Moving on to hard drives--the 6GB that's in it is enough space for anything ma wants to do, but it's a slow drive so I'm thinking of a faster one with a larger buffer (to aide with virtual memory since RAM maxes out kind of low). Is this one of the machines where you have to partition the drive with a <8GB partiion for the OS? It's not a problem to do so, but I don't want to confuse her with 2 drive icons if I don't have to.