PDA

View Full Version : Unable to install Vista 32Bits Home Premium on Mac Pro




Tangerine
Jul 11, 2007, 01:16 AM
Anyone have success installing Windows Vista 32Bits Home Premium on Mac Pro? I have 1 SATA Hard Drive for Mac OS X, and the other I was planning installing Windows Vista. I'm using the latest version of Bootcamp 1.3 Beta. I follow the instruction exactly, I use Bootcamp to partition the Hard Drive to have Windows Vista install, then reboot with the DVD Vista to install. But after trying to select the newly format partition hard drive to be install I get a message "Windows is unable to find a system volume that meets the installation criteria" I try rebooting back to Mac OS X and repeat the step, but it alway been the same result. I'm using a genuine OEM version of Windows Vista Home Premium 32 Bits I bought for $120! Now I can't even make it to work. Please help!:(



OMAC1A
Jul 11, 2007, 10:17 AM
How big is the partition you are trying to install Vista on? You should try to have at least a 20GB partition available. I think the recommendation is 15GB, but give yourself 20 just in case. On my installation of Vista Business on my Macbook I found the following:


Vista Business 6.9GB
Pagefile.sys 2.5GB
Hiberfil.sys 2.1GB

That's just over 11GB for a basic installation of Vista Business. Hope this helps.

apfhex
Jul 11, 2007, 03:37 PM
I use Bootcamp to partition the Hard Drive to have Windows Vista install, then reboot with the DVD Vista to install. But after trying to select the newly format partition hard drive to be install I get a message "Windows is unable to find a system volume that meets the installation criteria"
To be clear, did you in fact format the partition using the Vista installer?

Tangerine
Jul 11, 2007, 07:41 PM
I'm using Seagate 120GB SATA Hard Drive, plenty of memory for Vista. I try using Bootcamp to format the partition, I have also use Vista to format the partition for me, but I still receive the same message. I have Google for this message and I have find out it's not just the Mac Pro is effected by it, some people also having hard time trying to get Vista to recognize the partition Hard Drive to be install in. I have try everything, I have also try removing my 2 other SATA Drive and only leaving 1 Hard Drive to have Vista install with but no luck. I'm about to smash my keyboard to little pieces! I was hoping someone on here able to install Windows Vista Home Premium on a 2nd separate Hard Drive successfully? If so, what step did you do and what Hard Drive did you use? I see a lot of people are using Vista Ultimate instead, but it's too expensive for me and I doubt it will make any different.

Renderz
Nov 16, 2007, 11:28 AM
Hi,

Did anyone find any answers to this? I tried to so a search on Apple's site, but nothing that helped unless I'm searching the wrong parameters.

It's frustrating that I cannot install XP or VISTA on my Mac Pro wth 3gb of ram and formatted so that the Windows partition as 100gb to play with.