PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Convincing My Dad

bennetsaysargh
Jul 23, 2003, 11:13 PM
i need some help convincing my dad to buy a new computer. i am currently on a 400Mhz G3 iMac (Slot-Loading) with 512MB of RAM and a combo drive.
lately, the whole computer has been slow, really really slow. slow beyond your worst nightmares. i think it's time for a new computer. it would most likely be a new iMac, or eMac. i plan on making a movie with iMovie, or FCP if i can get a copy of it. My family would use it for email and web browsing. We all use iTunes. without iTunes, i don't know where i would be.

we are on a limited budget, so i also need ideas to help with that. sonce he works at night as an NYPD officer, i need to talk to him about the money tnat would be needed. i also want to know more about the apple loans.

any help/suggestions would be greatly apriciated.

ZildjianKX
Jul 23, 2003, 11:19 PM
I'll just tell ya, Apple loans are like Apple's standard warranties, they suck. If you get a loan, PLEASE go through a bank and don't pay 10% interest.

synthetickittie
Jul 23, 2003, 11:25 PM
well how old are you? if your old enough for a job then get one and work hard to get enough for what ever computer you want. Im 17 and I worked, saved, and then payed for what I have now all on my own(powermac 1.42). TRUST ME Ive had my parents buy my computers before but now that I bought this one MYSELF it feels SO MUCH better and I just love it all that much more knowing that.

DrGonzo
Jul 23, 2003, 11:38 PM
definately get a job if you can, at least to pay for part of it. Parents are a lot more willing to spend money on more expensive items if you work to pay some to cut down their cost, and since you're a student (i assume hs) you can score an apple student discount. Just try to talk with your parents to find out what you can do to get them to be more open about getting a new computer. Drop the "it's my future" line and other such bs.

QCassidy352
Jul 24, 2003, 12:32 AM