Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dingdongbubble

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 1, 2007
Hi

I am a beginner in WEb Designing and believe it or not I got started onl yesterday by following the link to HTML Dog on the post: Beginning Website design and DEvelopment.

I would like t ask you if it is possible to set your website's behaviour according to the browser viewing it? I want to do this so that my website can be viewed form mobile phones.

This idea came to my mind when I went to CSSEdit's website and copied their webpage source onto a text editor, removed the CSS link and saved it as an HTML. When I opened the file, the website was shockingly simple. It was the implementation of CSS which had made the website look gorgeous.

So I was wondering if it were possible for my website to not disable the CSS when a mobile phone browses onto it?

Mac In School

macrumors 65816
Jun 21, 2007
Yes, you can. You can do it via CSS or Javascript, but I would probably do it in a server-side language, so the extra code is transparent to people and spiders.

aaronbrethorst

macrumors member
Feb 1, 2007
Seattle, WA
Hi

I am a beginner in WEb Designing and believe it or not I got started onl yesterday by following the link to HTML Dog on the post: Beginning Website design and DEvelopment.

I would like t ask you if it is possible to set your website's behaviour according to the browser viewing it? I want to do this so that my website can be viewed form mobile phones.

This idea came to my mind when I went to CSSEdit's website and copied their webpage source onto a text editor, removed the CSS link and saved it as an HTML. When I opened the file, the website was shockingly simple. It was the implementation of CSS which had made the website look gorgeous.

So I was wondering if it were possible for my website to not disable the CSS when a mobile phone browses onto it?