PDA

View Full Version : How to share an Xraid?


bubbagump
Jul 28, 2003, 10:02 AM
I am thinking about moving the television studio at my school to a centralized storage platform. It will be accessed by two G4 dual 1.25s and two G5 dual 2.0s. If we were to purchase an Xraid could this be shared with a fibre channel switch? I think scsi is becoming quite passe with the macintosh, although it seems that apple was one of its greatest proponents some time ago.

Bubba

ColdZero
Jul 28, 2003, 12:15 PM
Yes you can, if you use a Fibre Channel switch you can connect each of the computers to it with a Fibre Channel host adapter, then both fibre channel ports of the XRaid to the switch. Then you can configure the XRaid to create RAID sets for each host that you want to access it. What you can't do is share a RAID set between 2 computers. If you want to do that, you'd need to either get OS X Server or setup some kind of file sharing.

cesar
Jul 29, 2003, 09:49 PM
check out: http://www.apple.com/xserve/raid/deployment.html

http://a772.g.akamai.net/7/772/51/45ac664c6d05b7/www.apple.com/xserve/raid/images/deployment1b_020903.gif

http://a772.g.akamai.net/7/772/51/42d564dc970dc8/www.apple.com/xserve/raid/images/deployment2b_020903.gif

http://a772.g.akamai.net/7/772/51/c29749e64ecba0/www.apple.com/xserve/raid/images/deployment3b_020903.gif

bubbagump
Jul 29, 2003, 11:07 PM
Crap. I though I could use an Xraid as a fibre channel SAN or something like that. I would like to be able to share storage, but since I will be editting video, ethernet file sharing that needs to go through a server definitely will not suffice. I guess the products that do this sort of thing are rather $$, even considering the Xraid's large pricetag.

Bubba