PDA

View Full Version : My WU suddenly stopped too!




Vlade
Jul 28, 2003, 02:49 PM
Well I was programming today, and I accidently started an infinite loop allocating memory to the program, after 10 seconds or so, my comp basically froze up, so I had to restart. After the restart I looked at my log and this is what it says

###############################################################################
################################################################################

Folding@home Client Version 3.25

http://foldingathome.stanford.edu
email:help@foldingathome.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Arguments: -local -advmethods

[16:16:44] - Ask before connecting: No
[16:16:44] - User name: mAc-Vlade (Team 3446)
[16:16:44] - User ID = 215350A71DF2D917
[16:16:44] - Machine ID: 1
[16:16:44]
[16:16:44] Loaded queue successfully.
[16:16:44] + Benchmarking ...
[16:17:02]
[16:17:02] + Processing work unit
[16:17:02] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[16:17:02] Core found.
[16:17:02] Working on Unit 04 [July 28 16:17:02]
[16:17:02] + Working ...
[16:17:03]
[16:17:03] *------------------------------*
[16:17:03] Folding@home Gromacs Core
[16:17:03] Version 1.48 (May 12, 2003)
[16:17:03]
[16:17:03] Preparing to commence simulation
[16:17:03] - Looking at optimizations...
[16:17:03] - Files status OK
[16:17:05] - Expanded 363204 -> 1774297 (decompressed 488.5 percent)
[16:17:05]
[16:17:05] Project: 361 (Run 1, Clone 59, Gen 3)
[16:17:05]
[16:17:05] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[16:17:05] Entering M.D.
[16:17:26] (Starting from checkpoint)
[16:17:26] Protein: p361_gnra_pf2_Mg
[16:17:26]
[16:17:26] Writing local files
[16:17:36] Completed 162363 out of 500000 steps (32)
[16:17:36] Testing CPU type...
[16:17:36] Done testing.
[16:17:36] Extra AltiVec boost OK.
[17:18:22] Writing local files
[17:18:22] Completed 165000 out of 500000 steps (33)


--- Opening Log file [July 28 18:07:01]


###############################################################################
################################################################################

Folding@home Client Version 3.25

http://foldingathome.stanford.edu
email:help@foldingathome.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Arguments: -local -advmethods

[18:07:01] - Ask before connecting: No
[18:07:01] - User name: mAc-Vlade (Team 3446)
[18:07:01] - User ID = 215350A71DF2D917
[18:07:01] - Machine ID: 1
[18:07:01]
[18:07:02] Loaded queue successfully.
[18:07:02] + Benchmarking ...
[18:07:06]
[18:07:06] + Processing work unit
[18:07:06] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[18:07:06] Core found.
[18:07:06] Working on Unit 04 [July 28 18:07:06]
[18:07:06] + Working ...
[18:07:07]
[18:07:07] *------------------------------*
[18:07:07] Folding@home Gromacs Core
[18:07:07] Version 1.48 (May 12, 2003)
[18:07:07]
[18:07:07] Preparing to commence simulation
[18:07:07] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
[18:07:24] - Looking at optimizations...
[18:07:24] - Working with standard loops on this execution.
[18:07:24] - Previous termination of core was improper.
[18:07:24] - Files status OK
[18:07:24] - Expanded 363204 -> 1774297 (decompressed 488.5 percent)
[18:07:25] - Checksums don't match (work/wudata_04CP.arc)
[18:07:25] - Starting from initial work packet
[18:07:25]
[18:07:25] Project: 361 (Run 1, Clone 59, Gen 3)
[18:07:25]
[18:07:25] Entering M.D.
[18:07:35] Protein: p361_gnra_pf2_Mg
[18:07:35]
[18:07:35] Writing local files
[18:08:03] Writing local files
[18:08:03] Completed 0 out of 500000 steps (0)

So... am I screwed? Did I just lose a weeks worth of folding?



bertinman
Jul 28, 2003, 04:20 PM
Originally posted by Vlade
So... am I screwed? Did I just lose a weeks worth of folding?

looks like it.

once lost a wu progress can never be regained...

Vlade
Jul 28, 2003, 08:11 PM
Dang... I shouldn't need to reinstall folding should I? in another thread someone had to do that.

vannote
Jul 29, 2003, 12:47 PM
Originally posted by Vlade
Dang... I shouldn't need to reinstall folding should I? in another thread someone had to do that.

You probably don't have to reinstall anything. The WU did not suddenly stop as it was essentially done at your own hand. Granted, the folding client should probably have handled the situation a little more gracefully.