PDA

View Full Version : Dual 1.4 Ghz G4 vs 1.6 Ghz G5


bsichran
Jul 28, 2003, 07:35 PM
It may be too early to tell, but does anyone know what would be faster for my video editing--a dual 1.25 gig G4, or a single 1.6 G5? I gather the 64 bit stuff won't mean anything for awhile, but does that huge 800 mhz bus and other things mean the single G5 processor will be faster than the dual G4's? Does it make any sense to get a dual G4 and not a G5?

Seems to me the G5 will last longer, say in a year or so when there are more 64 bit apps, but I don't know.:confused:

whawho
Jul 28, 2003, 07:42 PM
Originally posted by bsichran
It may be too early to tell, but does anyone know what would be faster for my video editing--a dual 1.4 gig G4, or a single 1.6 G5? I gather the 64 bit stuff won't mean anything for awhile, but does that huge 800 mhz bus and other things mean the single G5 processor will be faster than the dual G4's? Does it make any sense to get a dual G4 and not a G5?

Seems to me the G5 will last longer, say in a year or so when there are more 64 bit apps, but I don't know.:confused:

This may be just me... but ANY time you can afford the newer technology-->get it. I think the whole architecture of the G5 is better than the dual 1.4s. It'll just seem quicker and once everything gets optimized it'll be even better. I would recommend the G5..

My 2 cents.

DVDSP
Jul 28, 2003, 08:34 PM
Originally posted by bsichran
Seems to me the G5 will last longer, say in a year or so when there are more 64 bit apps, but I don't know.:confused:

Right, when FCP (and it will be if it isn't already, secretly :)) or whatever you use for editing is 64 bit optimized you'll only have to upgrade the software, which you would probably do anyway. If you buy a G4 now you'll be missing out on that when the time comes. If I was currently in the market (and I wish I was) I'd go with the G5. You're just being more future-safe...

rundevilrun
Jul 28, 2003, 09:30 PM
Just a guess but I'd bet that the memory bandwidth of the G5 would make it at least as good or better than the G4.
I agree with the others about the software potential too, I think video will be one of the first sectors to be optimized for 64 bit cpus.

ColdZero
Jul 28, 2003, 11:13 PM
Ok, 64-Bit optimizations will do NOTHING for speed. 64 Bit has to do with memory addressing and precision, not speed. For example a 32 Bit G4 1.4 is the same speed as a 64 Bit G4 1.4, if it existed. Unless you are gonna stock up on more than 2gb of ram, get whichever one is faster.

P-Worm
Jul 28, 2003, 11:39 PM
Originally posted by ColdZero
Ok, 64-Bit optimizations will do NOTHING for speed. 64 Bit has to do with memory addressing and precision, not speed. For example a 32 Bit G4 1.4 is the same speed as a 64 Bit G4 1.4, if it existed. Unless you are gonna stock up on more than 2gb of ram, get whichever one is faster.

Wait, what?

I thought that certain apps (video being a good example) would greatly benifit from 64 bit.

P-Worm

ColdZero
Jul 29, 2003, 12:42 AM
They will benefit from the extra memory that will be availible to them because they can be addressed at 64 bits, which is some insanely large number. But 64 bit just has to do with memory addressing, not speed.

SLJ
Jul 29, 2003, 01:36 AM
everything have to gel... meaning, for the G5 to fully performan at MAX... you need a true, 64bit OS, 64bit application and your G5 is running what it design for... meaning you want to use the bandwidth to the max... is very hard to compare a G4 against a G5 because is two different system but... I assume that the G5 may not be quicker if you are running 32-bit application.... We may even see compatibilty issue with older application with a G5 processor, too...

My 2 Cent

bsichran
Jul 29, 2003, 10:56 PM
First, you guys are terrific. This was my first post, and the responses were all intelligent and useful.

I've heard some G4 apps may not work on a G5, as said above. Anyone else know about this?

ColdZero
Jul 29, 2003, 11:06 PM
Its possible, but I'm guessing its going to be limited to programs that try to access features of the G4 directly. Memory managers, if there are even any for OS X will probably not work because of the address space. Ummm those kinds of things. I'd say not to worry about Apps in they way of Office, Photoshop and stuff like that, more utilities that may not work.