PDA

View Full Version : How important are RAM brands?

wowoah
Jul 29, 2003, 12:35 AM
Hey, quick question for all you who're more technologically with-it than I am. I've heard repeatedly how important it is to max out RAM on your Mac, so I'm planning to upgrade my PowerBook's 512MB to a full 1GB. The problem is that the 512MB comes as 2 256MB DIMMS, whicih means that I'll probably have to sell those on eBay and get two 512MB DIMMS. I found 512MB DIMMS by crucial for $139.00 a pop, which is really really expensive, seeing as I'm a student. However, I also found the same DIMMS on eBay for ~40 bucks, and although the seller had really great feedback, he neglected to name what the brand of the DIMM was (leading me to believe it's some no-name generic brand.) Would it be okay for me to save some money and go with the eBay seller's brand, or will I need to bite the bullet and go for a namebrand like Crucial?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Mav451
Jul 29, 2003, 12:52 AM
i personally would stay away from no-name. Sometimes no-name can be so bad that you cannot even stably run your computer (i.e. application crashes for no reason).

On the other hand, you may get lucky with the no-name brand and not get screwed :(

Crucial is very reliable, which is why i use them in my own computers :)

arn
Jul 29, 2003, 12:56 AM
go with a brandname.

There's a chance just random RAM will cause all sorts of problems - random crashes etc...

I've been through it myself... and I bought it from a real RAM store... not some guy online.

People have had good luck with Crucial.

arn

Lanbrown
Jul 29, 2003, 09:05 AM