PDA

View Full Version : Mac Keyboard Shortcuts?


passthejonch
Aug 3, 2003, 08:25 PM
where can i find a link to a bunch of mac short cuts kinda like those on a pc

im new to the mac world

win:
things like ctrl + v for paste
and alt + tab to minimize

right now i need to learn how to minimize big applications on macs and copy and paste using the keyboard

P-Worm
Aug 3, 2003, 08:37 PM
The keyboard shortcuts are in the menu next to it's action. I don't know minimize, but copy is apple-c and paste is apple-v. Usually they are the same as Windows, just Apple instead of Control.

P-Worm

Schiffi
Aug 3, 2003, 08:45 PM
Cmd(apple)+M for minimize, however, most people use Cmd+H for hide.

skymaXimus
Aug 3, 2003, 09:05 PM
http://macpanic.com/html/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=10

dbally
Aug 3, 2003, 09:18 PM
I'll finally be switching tomorrow and have had the same concerns as passthejonch . . . I'd like the transition to go smoothly and the shortcuts should help immensely, thank you for the link. :)

passthejonch
Aug 4, 2003, 12:14 AM
ok im playing the sims on the mac

but command + m and command + h won't work

:confused:

PB180
Aug 4, 2003, 12:38 AM
Originally posted by passthejonch
ok im playing the sims on the mac

but command + m and command + h won't work

:confused:

Just like on a PC, not all applications follow the rules quite right...

The biggest offenders tend to be games and pro apps, probably because both have lots of special shortcuts of their own. In addition, many programs which were first made in the days before OS X have carried forward many shortcuts which don't fit in now.

Certainly a nice thing you'll find is that if there is a keyboard shortcut for something, 99% of the time it will be clearly printed next to the name of the command.

Welcome to the Mac!

Nermal
Aug 4, 2003, 12:50 AM
Try Command-Tab to switch out of Sims.

tjwett
Aug 4, 2003, 01:32 AM
a lot of commands are the same for Win and Mac, even in the OS. just use cmnd(Apple button) instead of ctrl.

passthejonch
Aug 4, 2003, 04:44 AM
ok cmd + p worked

one more question

how do i take screenshots of my desktop?
and what program do you use to save it as a file?

bobindashadows
Aug 4, 2003, 10:03 AM
Originally posted by passthejonch
ok cmd + p worked

one more question

how do i take screenshots of my desktop?
and what program do you use to save it as a file?
Are you on OS X? I'll assume so.

If you press Command-Shift-3, it will automatically take a picture of your entire screen, and save it to a PDF file on your desktop entitled "Picture 1". If there already is a picture 1, it'll name it "Picture 2", or "Picture 3", and so on and so forth.

If you want to take a picture of a small portion of your screen, press Command-Shift-4. A little targetting crosshair will show up. Now you can either click and drag a selection, and that will save just that section to your desktop, or you can take a picture of just a certain window on your screen. To do that, press the space bar while the targeting cursor is still there. It'll turn into a camera, and when you point it at a window (or menu bar), it will give it a blue tint, meaning if you were to click, it will take a picture of all that is tinted. Give it a try on a few windows and such to familiarize. It's quite nifty-keen.

Oh, and many, many games will not let you command-tab out of them. It really, really gets on my nerves. They usually have a window mode that you can use, though.

benixau
Aug 4, 2003, 06:43 PM
In the sims - to get to the windowed mode you have to edit the preferences. Thats what i had to do. Kept crashing otherwise.
I wold tell you how but there are plenty of other threads on editiong preferences files - just *gasp* search and ye shall find.