PDA

View Full Version : Would this work in my G3 Powerbook (ebay)




MikeonTV
Aug 15, 2007, 09:02 AM
I know it is for a G4 powerbook. But would it work in my G3? I can't seem to find any documentation on if it would or not. Thanks all.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Powerbook-ibook-G4-512MB-DDR-PC2700-333MHZ-RAM_W0QQitemZ270154747879QQihZ017QQcategoryZ14909QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem



Zel
Aug 15, 2007, 09:27 AM
well that one is PC2700 DDR 333, so go find out if yours can use "PC2700 DDR 333"

that's all there is to it.

aquajet
Aug 15, 2007, 10:30 AM
No, that chip will not work.

Your PowerBook listed in your sig requires a PC100 SO-DIMM.

Zel
Aug 15, 2007, 11:00 AM
Crucial (a reputable memory manufacturer and retailer) has a web-app that can tell you what kind of ram you need. they claim it can use PC133 SODIMM, I believe PC133 SODIMM is backwards compatible with PC100 SODIMM, so I guess theyre right.

they claim also that th epowerbook pismo can take 512MB in each of its two slots, although you should see if Apple states the same.

anyway, here's a link to Crucial's information as well as their store

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=PowerBook%20G3%20400MHz%20%28Firewire/Pismo%29

pmartin
Aug 15, 2007, 12:24 PM
That DDR RAM won't work in any PowerBook G3, the no G3 supports DDR. If you do buy SDRAM, get a low profile SODIMM.

The Pismo definitely can take 512MB in each slot, despite what Apple says.

MikeonTV
Aug 15, 2007, 01:59 PM
I'm convinced based on many testimonials that The G3 Pismo can take 1 GB. I'm just trying to find Ram that wont cost me 200.00 US.

Zel
Aug 15, 2007, 02:42 PM
I'm convinced based on many testimonials that The G3 Pismo can take 1 GB. I'm just trying to find Ram that wont cost me 200.00 US.

Good luck with that. they dont make those antiques anymore, and they didnt make very many of them in 512mb per stick to begin with.

low supply = high cost