PDA

View Full Version : Will Powermac G4 dual 500 run leopard?




Yaris
Aug 17, 2007, 05:31 PM
Sorry for the newbish question but I heard that Leopard will not operate well on less than 800 mhz, but will it run on dual 500 mhz G4 processors?



Killyp
Aug 17, 2007, 05:34 PM
I can't see Apple would be so short sighted as to exclude multi-processor G4s, as they really are pretty quick machines, so I'm going to say yes, it will be supported.

If I am wrong, then there are ways of doing it other ways, even if it's not official...

ricgnzlzcr
Aug 17, 2007, 06:27 PM
I don't think Apple will let you install it without it being at least 800mhz, but as KillyP pointed out there are alternatives. Also, you could look into a processor upgrade for your G4. They're still wonderful machines.

Yaris
Aug 17, 2007, 06:46 PM
I just thought that having dual processors might help.

ricgnzlzcr
Aug 17, 2007, 07:18 PM
Well nothing has been confirmed yet so for all of us it's just educated speculation.

darthraige
Aug 18, 2007, 08:30 AM
I was thinking about installing Leopard on my G4 Dual 800 when it comes out. But having second thoughts. I feel like Tiger slows this beast down a bit too. I'm just gonna wait for next generation MacPro and have it already installed on there. I would want it to run at its full when it comes out and not on a megahertz computer.

Yaris
Aug 18, 2007, 08:52 AM
Well, there are two G4s that are around the same price on craigslist. One originally came with a single 400 mhz processor and has a Sonnet 1ghz processor in it, and the other has stock dual 500s. I am planning to upgrade in the future, so which one would be better to buy?

darthraige
Aug 18, 2007, 09:26 AM
Well, there are two G4s that are around the same price on craigslist. One originally came with a single 400 mhz processor and has a Sonnet 1ghz processor in it, and the other has stock dual 500s. I am planning to upgrade in the future, so which one would be better to buy?

Neither. I'd go with more speed. A lot more. Most the programs out can't handle that speed.

AlexMaximus
Aug 18, 2007, 09:54 AM
Well, there are two G4s that are around the same price on craigslist. One originally came with a single 400 mhz processor and has a Sonnet 1ghz processor in it, and the other has stock dual 500s. I am planning to upgrade in the future, so which one would be better to buy?

I would recommend to go for a G4 MDD Dual 1.42. They are slowly comming avialable on ebay for a great price. You would have a true power machine to last at least the next two years. By going with this one you wouldn't have to spend money on an expensive CPU upgrade. You actually get this machine for the price of an Sawtooth CPU upgrade at this time. On top of this, this G4 has the dual CPU with L3 cache which gives you a server level machine from the xserve G4 back in the day. I have this machine myself and bought it about a year ago. I will not need a new machine till 2009 for sure. Best machine I ever had.

FF_productions
Aug 18, 2007, 10:07 AM
I would recommend to go for a G4 MDD Dual 1.42. They are slowly comming avialable on ebay for a great price. You would have a true power machine to last at least the next two years. By going with this one you wouldn't have to spend money on an expensive CPU upgrade. You actually get this machine for the price of an Sawtooth CPU upgrade at this time. On top of this, this G4 has the dual CPU with L3 cache which gives you a server level machine from the xserve G4 back in the day. I have this machine myself and bought it about a year ago. I will not need a new machine till 2009 for sure. Best machine I ever had.


I liked the Dual G4 1.42, they come at great prices these days. You can get about 4 hard drives in there, 2 drives, and some decent video cards.

The L3 Cache helps BIG time.

zap2
Aug 18, 2007, 12:07 PM
Hmm....I'm going to say no. G3 were once supported(on Apple's web site)m and Dual 500 are kind of old.



But Apple might shock us

aquajet
Aug 19, 2007, 12:54 PM
But Apple might shock us

From what others have said, the latest developer releases require at least an 800 mhz G4. If Apple shock us at all, it will be by further increasing the minimum system requirements for Leopard, not reducing them.

opeter
Aug 19, 2007, 01:31 PM
If i would be Apple, i would set the minimum for G5... G4 are outdated... since the CPU upgrades are not officially supported, so... You know. Now we live in Intel Macworld...

I think the whole PPC support will be officially dropped by Apple in the end of 2008, or 2009.

MorzillA
Aug 21, 2007, 10:55 AM
Well wouldn't you know it!! the Apple tech support looks into our inconveniences and support for other H.O.M.O.s as well,

The question has been answered by APPLEs tech support, in that it is suggested by APPLE to do an upgrade on your system from 400 mhz to 800 mhz as well as the memory upgrades to our "vintage" (hee hee :)) PowerMac G4s. So I will be writting my letter to Santa Jobs for major upgrades to my precious!!! WOOO HOOO :D
Sorry opeter but looks like the G4s and G5s will be around for a lil bit longer than expected, making the APPLEs cpu last longer than the average PC yes including the OS!!!


Thanks MIKE for all the support!!!


:apple: