Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hui__lim

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 12, 2002
Currently, I own a 15" PB 1GHz with 1GB RAM. I have managed to persuade my dad to buy a new laptop for my bro (he had a compaq), as it was getting dated. I recommended the Mac as it's great for multimedia and this would help him a fair bit in school. He has now given me permission to buy any mac (laptop) I choose. My question is, should I go ahead and buy the 17" as I already have the 15" (my bro wants the 15" but he has offered that if I want the 17", he would buy the 17", give it to me, and take my PB as my PB is less than a year old). What advantages does the 17" have over the 15"? For current 17" owners, is it much heavier than a 15"? I would have to lug my laptop around quite a bit, to uni and back home. I also fly quite often and would like to take my PB with me!
I'm currently studying computer science at university and have found the 15" to be perfect. It's just that the 15" is SOON to be outdated and it's just such a pity to buy a brand new PB so near it's "extinction" period, no offence to anyone! Help appreciated ASAP as I'm going to the store tomorrow to buy the laptop for my bro. MAny ThaNKS!

plutnicki

macrumors regular
Jul 7, 2003
Hard to say

Of the current offering of powerbooks, the 17" is the most "up to date". So from a features standpoint, it's the better buy (FW800, Airport Extreme, bluetooth built in).

As far as portability. *I* thought it was too big for me to carry back and forth to work every day. But that's me, some people find it very acceptable. I think for use on a plane, the 15"is about as big as would be really useable.

Do you have the opportunity, before you buy, to go and really check out a 17" up close and personal. I think that's probably the only way you'll know if it works for YOU.