PDA

View Full Version : Is this iBook a good deal?

Papabear
Aug 18, 2007, 11:34 AM
This is the ad for an iBook. Is it a good deal??

"12" Apple iBook G4 laptop for $400. Very nice laptop, silent and slick, works perfectly. It has 21 Months of Apple Care warranty which is transferable.
Specs include 1.33GHz PowerPC G4 Processor, 512MB DDR SDRAM, 40GB HD, 12.1 Screen, Mac OS X version 10.4 Tiger, Airport Extreme Card"

Could I get Final Cut Express put on this thing and with an external HD do some basic editing and then burn it to DVD??

Thanks - I'm new to Macs

Father Jack
Aug 18, 2007, 11:51 AM

"12" Apple iBook G4 laptop for $400. Very nice laptop, silent and slick, works perfectly. It has 21 Months of Apple Care warranty which is transferable.
Specs include 1.33GHz PowerPC G4 Processor, 512MB DDR SDRAM, 40GB HD, 12.1 Screen, Mac OS X version 10.4 Tiger, Airport Extreme Card"

Could I get Final Cut Express put on this thing and with an external HD do some basic editing and then burn it to DVD??

Thanks - I'm new to Macs
The G4 should handle Final Cut Express ok although a little slow.

You will need to check if it is fitted with

A. Super-drive ( which can read and burn CD's and DVD's)

or

B. Combo-drive ( which can read and burn CD's but can only read DVD's )

galstaph
Aug 18, 2007, 10:32 PM
IIRC, all 12" iBooks were combo drives (except a few edu models with cd drives:p)
As for FCE a 40gb drive might be too small, you will want to get an external as well (cheapest is to buy a firewire enclosure for 3.5" drives and get a cheap ide drive). My iBook has a 60gb and I keep filling it up with just various programs leaving 20-25gb free (at least 13gb free helps OSX feel snappy)