Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

codycartoon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 13, 2002
My name is Cody, and I have been on Apple for 2 years.

I have a PowerMac G4 that does everything I need it to do. I have an iBook that suites me just fine for scriptwriting and traveling purposes. But I find myself, almost everyday at the apple website awing a new powerbook or g5. It is becoming a daily addiction; if I don’t get a new one soon I am not sure what will happen. I am a student filmmaker, I could use the extra MHz I guess but I really don't NEED it. What is wrong with me? I should be perfectly content with what I have. I have bought a new Mac every Christmas for the past 2 years. I am 15 and I don't get much help from my parents... Does anyone else share my addiction? Anyone a recovering addict?

Please help!
-cody

Powerbook G5

macrumors 68040
Jun 23, 2003
St Augustine, FL
I am also addicted, although, I am not able to get a new system quite as often as you due to low funds (and I thought life would be easier with a car and a girlfriend...heh). I keep telling myself I will be happy with a new 15" PowerBook...but then I'd want an iSight and an iPod and a G5 and a cinema display...by the time I get everything I want, I'd have sold my first born, along with the rest of my future family...

alset

macrumors 65816
Nov 9, 2002
East Bay, CA
It's human nature to want more. Geeks obsess quite a bit about the latest and greatest, just like car-junkies go nuts for the biggest and baddest after-market add-ons. We don't always need new machines, but show me a geek who doesn't drool at the idea of a bigger and better machine and I'll show you the average consumer. Apple makes it especially difficult to ignore, as the machines have radical changes in design every few years.