PDA

View Full Version : Is the Airport Extreme base a router?

SLJ
Aug 11, 2003, 05:33 AM
Can I use the Airport Extreme base as a router? I am getting a little confuse... I am new to this wireless stuff... am I using 802.11g or b ?

irmongoose
Aug 11, 2003, 06:39 AM
No, the Airport (and Extreme) bases are not routers, they are more like hubs, as in they split the connection to how many computers you want, but they don't actually do anything (except for giving you a wireless connection, of course). Although, you could easily add a router to your wireless network... this is from Apple's Airport FAQ:

Can I use a router with the AirPort Extreme Base Station?
Yes. You can plug the AirPort Extreme Base Station directly into a router on your network. With this network configuration, you may need to turn off DHCP on the AirPort Extreme Base Station via the AirPort software. It is also possible to connect the router to the LAN port of the AirPort Extreme Base Station. With this network configuration, you may need to turn off DHCP on your router. It is not recommended that you have DHCP turned on for both a router and the AirPort Extreme Base Station.

And Airport Extreme is 802.11g.

irmongoose

MacBoyX
Aug 11, 2003, 06:54 AM
Well..

It's not really a router in the true sense of the word but for a home network it is...

The AE base station provides a NAT'd firewall and converts an incoming broadband signal to wireless and on some models one extra Ethernet port so technically it becomes a router...

The AE base station runs at either 802.11b or g depending on how you set it.

SLJ, more specifically what are asking... how do you want to use the AE Base Station?

I don't own one but I bought one for my parents and I have configured it as such:

Comcast Cable Modem --> AirPort Extreme Base Station --> Compaq P.O.S. Machine running WinMe

Also my sister and mother user their iBooks on the AirPort Extreme base station at 802.11b.

I also jump off and on her network when I visit.