PDA

View Full Version : 12 Powerbook Mod... HELP please!

Adokimus
Aug 30, 2007, 01:00 PM
Ok, I want to attempt a likely impossible mod. I want to gut out some of my broken 12" Powerbook G4, and stick an intel chip inside. I intend to keep the battery and HD the same as they still work fine. In short, I want to make my own 12" MBP. I have some experience building desktops and my roommate (who I'm recruiting) is a computer engineer, so if this can be done, I think we might be up to it. I have searched multiple forums and googled this topic, but with only limited results... most modded powerbooks just change the color of the apple on the lid.

The main issue I see is with the logic board and connectors. The current logic board won't be able to use an intel chip, and a new one would have different connectors and may not fit or might be too hot.

I know there are a lot of intelligent people on here, with more knowledge on this issue than I have. If anyone can help me out by sending me ideas on how to retrofit a different logic board into the powerbook, which logic board might fit, what adapters I might be able to use to connect a different logic board to the powerbook's ports, any disassembly instructions, etc. it would be EXTREMELY appreciated. Help, Help, Help!

Do people think this is possible? Can you send me any help on how you would go about it? Or give me a head's up on any issues I should know about ahead of time? Any help is greatly appreciated. Please don't just reply with the post "impossible."

Thanks in advance.

Much love,

Ado

(And as always, if I get this to work, you'll get pictures of every step.)

PlaceofDis
Aug 30, 2007, 01:06 PM
you're going to have all sorts of problems.

first you'll need to find a logic board that will fit and has the right connections.
you'll likely need a new drive unless its SATA and hopefully you'll be able to use the same powersupply connection and video connection, unless their proprietary, and this is apple. so maybe.