PDA

View Full Version : Windows Question ...


Fender2112
Aug 14, 2003, 02:19 PM
I have a problem with Windows XP that I need help with. I installed Windows XP on an extra hard drive I have at my office with the intent of using as backup drive should the neeed arise.

The installation went OK and I was able to boot from the new disk. Once I was satisfied I took the drive out of the case and rebooted my computer. The problem is that Windows is giving an option to boot from from this new disk even though it is not installed. How do I get Windows to default to the C: drive and forget that the other one ( E: ) ever existed?

P.S. It's things like this that make me hate Windows.:mad:

adamfilip
Aug 14, 2003, 02:24 PM
okay well right click on my computer to bring up the system properties.

under the advanced tab.. click on the settings button for Startp and Recovery

here is where you can select what operating system you want to load. and if you want the option screen to appear. that will let you select the booting OS.

hope this helps

:)

iPC
Aug 14, 2003, 02:44 PM
Keep the option there!

Otherwise you have to remember to turn it back on, shutdown the machine, plug in the other drive, and turn machine back on. Much simpler to have it time out at 5 seconds or something.

Funny that more control is a bad thing... IYO.

Bear
Aug 14, 2003, 03:06 PM
Originally posted by Fender2112
I have a problem with Windows XP that I need help with. I installed Windows XP on an extra hard drive I have at my office with the intent of using as backup drive should the neeed arise.
...
How is this an Apple related hardware question?

adamfilip
Aug 14, 2003, 03:08 PM
well this person also uses macs.. even tho at the moment a pc problem came up.

sometimes we need to help our mac friends deal with pc's
its sometimes inevitable that a mac user will use a pc

Fender2112
Aug 14, 2003, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by adamfilip
well this person also uses macs.. even tho at the moment a pc problem came up.

sometimes we need to help our mac friends deal with pc's
its sometimes inevitable that a mac user will use a pc

Thanks for watching my back ;)

And thanks to all for the help. Mission accomplished. I suppose: Apple Menu >> Control Panel >> Startup Disk was too simple for Microsoft to copy. :rolleyes:

patrick0brien
Aug 14, 2003, 04:46 PM
Originally posted by Fender2112
Thanks for watching my back ;)

And thanks to all for the help. Mission accomplished. I suppose: Apple Menu >> Control Panel >> Startup Disk was too simple for Microsoft to copy. :rolleyes:

-Fender2112

Microsoft has never been known as good interface designers or for thinking potential problems all the way through.

Gus
Aug 14, 2003, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by Fender2112
Thanks for watching my back ;)

And thanks to all for the help. Mission accomplished. I suppose: Apple Menu >> Control Panel >> Startup Disk was too simple for Microsoft to copy. :rolleyes:

LOL :) Now THAT'S funny.

Regards,
Gus