PDA

View Full Version : Microtek Scanners Under OS 9.2


MacRumors
Sep 7, 2001, 03:20 PM
A quick heads up to users planning to use Microtek scanners with the new Quicksilver G4's.
I have a Microtek ScanMaker X6 (USB), purchased over a year ago, it is generates execllent quality scans and was very economical. After upgrading to a Quicksilver (dual 800), I went
to install the ScanWizard driver suite that came on the bundled CD (the same version that's currently on Microtek's site for download, v1.03.1) and during the install process, my system locked. The install also locked when run after booting with extensions turned off.
I am running MacOS 9.2.1 on this G4, which is probably the cuprit (note that the Quicksilvers will not load any version of MacOS prior to v9.2).
I had sent several e-mails over the past few days, and seeing no response, I phoned their tech support. After explaining the above, I was told that this support inquiry had to be elevated to another level (or some such) and that it would
involved a $30 charge! Obviously I did not proceed to accept that charge, as an attempting to install the latest drivers on a fresh install of system OS definitely does not warrant an additional
charge to the user! So, assuming this is a general issue with Mac OS 9.2, be advised that the successful use of certain Microtek scanners with a Quicksilver may cost you $30 above the cost of the scanner (and it has yet to be seen whether these two
devices can be made to work together at all.)

blakespot
Sep 7, 2001, 03:37 PM
I did just receive an e-mail response from Microtek re: one of my inquiries into this issue. Unfortunately it dealt with a scenario of trouble with the scanner, after the drivers were installed, which is not my situation--I've followed up and hopefully will get resolution soon...via free e-mail...



blakespot

Sep 7, 2001, 06:06 PM
You know, I had similar problems with my e3 scanner not working with my g4 450 on newer operating systems. every upgraded scanner driver kept hanging and crashing until i downgraded to 1.5.3 (i think) now it runs flawlessly. if you need any older drivers, i quite possibly have 2 or three previous. -kc!

(i am running a g4 adp graphics 450, with an adaptec scsi-usb converter cable/software, which might also have been my initial problem)

serpicolugnut
Sep 7, 2001, 11:15 PM
OK - not the best solution, but...

If it would cost you $30 to speak with someone in Tech support who is basically going to tell you, hey, OS 9.2.1 breaks our scanning software, you might want to consider this option to get back use of your scanner....

For $10 more, you can try out VueScan . It works under both 9.2.1. and OS X, and from what users are saying about it, is able to get much better scans out of the scanners it supports than the bundled application.

You can download a trial copy a http://www.versiontracker.com. It'll add a watermark to your scans until you register it...

Cheers!

glowurm
Sep 8, 2001, 01:15 AM
Hey MacRumors:

Sorry to hear about your troubles, especially with a brand new machine.

In my opinion i would go return the scanner if possible due to the lack of support; that is simply unacceptable in my book. I know it is over a year old but WalMart will take anything back! (Just Kidding. Well, only half way.)

The problem I have is discribed below, as my original post to the macfixit.com forums.

It turns out that the only similarities may be:
-Macintosh
-OS 9.2.1
-peripheral device
-lockup with extension combinations not helping

I have come to believe that it is due to the second video card through discussions in the MFI forums and through other boards.

Good Luck!
-gwm


Original MacFixIt forums post (http://www.macfixitforums.com/php/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=OS92&Number=232823&Search=true&Forum=OS92&Words=glowurm&Match=Username&Searchpage=0&Limit=100&Old=allposts&Main=232823)

Consistent Total Freeze & Lock Up on G4 450 DP/MP

This will probably be re-posted under another subject/thread (Re: Entourage/IE 5 crashing after update), please pardon the redundancy.

Having not learned my lesson with the past Apple updates I was eager to install this new version. So far my expectations have been not too far off the mark even though I had high hopes. I have scoured these forums for a similar situation and find none; where there are other things of this nature I am unable to solve the problem here with the solution given in the forum.

Please take a moment to review the history provided below; I believe it is a complete and thorough log of the events as they have occurred. As I mentioned before my expectations weren't the highest so I began with the note taking shortly after the first few freezes.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Configuration:

G4 450 DP/MP
448 MB RAM
30 GB HDD partitioned into:
5 GB OS 9.1 upgraded to 9.2.1
5 GB OS 9.1
20 GB Documents and Files
OEM ATI Rage 128 Pro AGP
IX Micro Ultimate Rez PCI
OEM Adaptec 2930CU SCSI
Iomega Zip SCSI (External)
Kensington Mouse-in-a-Box Optical Pro Mouse
Palm USB to Serial Adapter
Apple Pro Keyboard




HISTORY:
Downloaded 9.2.1 update from VersionTracker link.

Installed over reasonably new 9.1, update successful

First restart post install and system total lock-up (cursor not moving, no response from force quit) upon mouse click in MailWatcher II.

Force restart from reset button on front of machine, repairs disk problems, startup continues, same freeze in MailWatcher II (done to test consistency of error)

Force restart from reset button on front of machine while holding down space bar (to bring up extension manager), repairs disk problems, extension manager comes up, disable MailWatcher II (from startup items) startup continues, same freeze in Sherlock 2.

Force restart from reset button on front of machine while holding down option key (to bring up partition choices for boot volume) and selected secondary partition, repairs disk problems, startup continues into OS 9.1, same freeze before desktop fully appears (but after all extensions load).

Force restart from reset button on front of machine while holding down space bar (to bring up extension manager), repairs disk problems, extension manager comes up, and select the "Mac OS 9.2.1 All" extension set, startup continues, same freeze in Finder.

Force restart from reset button on front of machine while holding down space bar (to bring up extension manager), repairs disk problems, extension manager comes up, and select the "Mac OS 9.2.1 Base" extension set, startup continues, successful.

Normal restart after using Extension Manager to turn on several extensions; no errors after restart with the following:
Enternet RA 1.2
USB Overdrive
Stuffit Deluxe
Remote Access
Palm Connect (NOT Palm Desktop)
Action GoMac

Launch Internet Explorer, it goes through self repair/install process (the required extensions were disabled, remember?) and same total freeze on subscription update.

Force restart from reset button on front of machine, repairs disk problems, startup continues, same freeze in Internet Explorer (done to test consistency of error)

Force restart from reset button on front of machine, repairs disk problems, startup continues, use Netscape Communicator 4.7 to browse MacFixIt forums, launch Microsoft Entourage to find login info and same freeze on "send and receive all"

Force restart from reset button on front of machine while holding down option key (to bring up partition choices for boot volume) and selected secondary partition, repairs disk problems, startup continues into OS 9.1, use Netscape Communicator 4.7 to browse MacFixIt forums, then switched to Internet Explorer, launch Microsoft Entourage to find login info and so far no freeze.

After normal restart and boot from 9.1 partition I have copied over my preferences from the 9.2.1 System Folder with no ill effects as of this writing; another restart may change the situation however.


[Edited by glowurm on 09-08-2001 at 02:18 AM]

blakespot
Sep 8, 2001, 01:29 AM
!!!!

I was staggered to find that, amazingly, the software DOES install if run under Classic on OS X. Go figure. ?????

Unexpected.





blakespot

Bud
Sep 9, 2001, 11:23 PM
"I am running MacOS 9.2.1 on this G4, which is probably the cuprit (note that the Quicksilvers will not load any version of MacOS prior to v9.2)"

You may not be able to load 9.1 from CD, but we (Mac support in corporate publishing dept.) are certainly running OS 9.1 on all of our QuickSilvers (733s and one 867). We load from a prebuilt/configured profile on a server. The only thing we had to rev from 9.2 was sound mgmt. Everything else is working fine. We use ScanWizard Pro with Microtek ScanMaker 5s.

fuldog
Sep 16, 2001, 01:34 AM
BTW... anyone tried an Agfa SCSI scanner with a G4/DP? I'm about to get an 800/DP with SCSI card for my Agfa SnapScan 600, which I'm very fond of. TIA!