View Full Version : Careless phisher
raggedjimmi
Sep 19, 2007, 10:10 AM
I got one of them phising emails this morning, only thing is this guy is a little careless.
The phising site (designed to replicate Sainsbury's Bank) was on a guys personal site, going to the root address and he's got a blog up about his time in the army and links to his Myspace page! I did a whois and found his personal address, phone number, host provider etc.
what should I do here? I've already contacted the host provider and reported the site as ¨abusive/spam¨.
Is there a site to report this to? I don't really know what to do in this situation :o
mkrishnan
Sep 19, 2007, 10:13 AM
Is this something that can be reported to some central government aspect of your police? In the US, I think the FBI would deal with things like this (i.e. through this (http://www.ic3.gov/)).
edesignuk
Sep 19, 2007, 10:14 AM
In the US, I think the FBI would deal with things like this....Screw it, go to the CIA. They'll stick their nose in anyway regardless of any jurisdiction :p
raggedjimmi
Sep 19, 2007, 10:17 AM
The phisher guy is based in Washington if that helps.
mkrishnan
Sep 19, 2007, 10:17 AM
Screw it, go to the CIA. They'll stick their nose in anyway regardless of any jurisdiction :p
Haha, it's all fun and games until you get deported to an Egyptian interrogation agency. :D
But seriously, look at the link. I don't mean that you should call an FBI field office and ask to speak to an agent. But the FBI is the right aspect of the government here.
EDIT: If the phisher is based in the US, report him with the link above.
raggedjimmi
Sep 19, 2007, 10:23 AM
Ruddy nora that was quick! The hosting folks have suspended his account.
http://maxparcells.com/sainsburysbank.co.uk/web/Login.htm
umm, yey?
mkrishnan
Sep 19, 2007, 10:24 AM
Wow, that was quick! :eek:
edesignuk
Sep 19, 2007, 10:24 AM
Awesome. The internet is a safe place once again.
no, wait...:p
OscarTheGrouch
Sep 19, 2007, 10:43 AM
Somewhere a 15 year old with the last name Parcells just pissed in his pants cause he got his dad's domain suspended for phishing.
CanadaRAM
Sep 19, 2007, 10:47 AM
reportphishing@antiphishing.org
in the US Spam@uce.gov (don't know how effective that one is)
in Canada info@phonebusters.com (Goes to the RCMP mail fraud squad)
mkrishnan
Sep 19, 2007, 02:28 PM
Awesome. The internet is a safe place once again.
I hate it when phishers clog up the internet and prevent it from being used appropriately (i.e. for the dissemination of porn). :mad:
raggedjimmi
Sep 19, 2007, 05:40 PM
The plot thickens!
http://www.maxparcells.com/index.php
His site is back up, minus the phishing pages :confused:
vBulletin® v3.6.10, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.