PDA

View Full Version : Just who are the real enemys of freedom?

Pinto
Aug 27, 2003, 09:22 PM
link (http://www.msnbc.com/news/956446.asp?cp1=1)

When the Two Towers were hit The President called it an attack on freedom.

Of course, it wasn't. It was an attack on the USA itself.

The real attack on freedom has come from the very Government who pointed the finger at Al Queda.

I was born in Los Angeles to Lebanese-American parents. They taught me to go to school and make something of myself. I graduated from UCLA School of Law and started a private practice. I speak Spanish, not Arabic, because if you do business in southern California, knowing Spanish is a good idea. I own a quarter horse, love football and am a member of the NRA. I am a mainstream American.

I simply believe the rule of law has been the first victim of the war on terrorism. For example, a material witness can be arrested only if he or she is not cooperating with the government. My clients had been fully cooperating, but investigators claimed they were not in order to arrest them and spirit them away to New York.

Since when does the Constitution allow citizens arrested on U.S. soil to be held beyond the reach of the courts?
        The Bush administration is playing fast and loose with our rights. We are only beginning to understand the full impact of the Patriot Act—which was shoved through Congress in the aftermath of September 11—on our civil liberties. Federal agents can now search your home and office without your knowledge, and force your bank, your doctor and even your library to turn over their records about you.
        Are Americans willing to sacrifice their freedoms in order to combat terrorism? I hope not. As Ben Franklin said, those who would trade liberty for security deserve neither.

Ugg
Aug 27, 2003, 10:49 PM