PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop 7.0 in OS X 10.4 ??




SpaceMusic_Guy
Oct 6, 2007, 02:15 PM
Does anyone out there know if Photoshop 7.0 will run in OS X 10.4 ?? I'm currently running in 10.3.9 with no issues but would like to update my OS to 10.4 but would very much like to avoid having to pay for upgrades to my existing Graphics Apps.

And while I'm thinking of it......how about Illustrator 10. Will that run in 10.4 without any problems ??

Anybody out there running these versions in 10.4 ??



MDARFUS
Oct 6, 2007, 05:18 PM
I have both Photoshop 7 and Illustrator 10 running on a G5 with OS 10.4.10... they both work just as well as they did under 10.3...or OS 9, for that matter =')

Good Luck!

Macky-Mac
Oct 6, 2007, 05:22 PM
I used photoshop 7 with OS 10.4 for a while before i bought CS 2...I don't remember having any trouble with it. I still use Illustrator 10 and while I don't use it a lot, I haven't had any issues

AlexisV
Oct 9, 2007, 05:04 AM
10.5 Leopard comes out this month, probably on 30th October.

I'd wait until then if you can and buy that instead.

petervcook
Oct 29, 2007, 11:35 AM
I can confirm that it works great on Tiger, even on an Intel. My question is has anyone tested Photoshop 7 on Leopard?

Freelance
Nov 4, 2007, 08:58 PM
I can confirm that it works great on Tiger, even on an Intel. My question is has anyone tested Photoshop 7 on Leopard?

I tested Leopard yesterday on my G5's external FireWire drive. Photoshop 7 will not launch. I'm running Ps CS 3 now, but I occasionally need to run ImageReady 7 and same thing there...no luck :(

maxrobertson
Nov 5, 2007, 12:55 AM
I tested Leopard yesterday on my G5's external FireWire drive. Photoshop 7 will not launch. I'm running Ps CS 3 now, but I occasionally need to run ImageReady 7 and same thing there...no luck :(

OH, that's too bad.

Does anyone know about Photoshop CS (1)? I have that, can't live without it and would like to use Leopard :)

TheReef
Nov 5, 2007, 01:33 AM
I tested Leopard yesterday on my G5's external FireWire drive. Photoshop 7 will not launch. I'm running Ps CS 3 now, but I occasionally need to run ImageReady 7 and same thing there...no luck

Wow, that just saved me buying version 7 #phew#

I'm not sure if it would make a difference in Leopard, but would it work if you copied it to the startup disk?

What about CS2 on leopard? :o

GSMiller
Nov 5, 2007, 01:28 PM
Wow, that just saved me buying version 7 #phew#

I'm not sure if it would make a difference in Leopard, but would it work if you copied it to the startup disk?

What about CS2 on leopard? :o

CS2 runs fine.

freeny
Nov 5, 2007, 02:20 PM
CS2 runs fine.

According to this article (http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/07/10/29/adobe_to_update_some_creative_suite_3_apps_for_leopard.html), CS2 is NOT built for leopard.

Adobe's quote on CS2 in Leopard:
"Likely to encounter issues for which there is no resolution"

Whatever that means, only Adobe knows :rolleyes:

TheReef
Nov 6, 2007, 12:37 AM
OH, that's too bad.

Does anyone know about Photoshop CS (1)? I have that, can't live without it and would like to use Leopard :)

I installed the demo of CS1 from one of my old computer magazine disks. It seams to be working without problems :)

Xeem
Nov 6, 2007, 01:23 AM
I'm also chiming in to say that Photoshop 7 doesn't work in Leopard on my iBook (I'm running it on my startup disk, and it worked great in Tiger), which is really annoying. I'll have to look for a workaround.

Bonnie Hays
Nov 7, 2007, 07:17 PM
I've tried loading and updating Photoshop 7.0.1 in OS 10.4.1 and i keep getting error messages that OX x cannot find some of the files.

any ideas??

thx

That-Is-Bull
Nov 7, 2007, 10:12 PM
Does anyone know about Photoshop CS (1)? I have that, can't live without it and would like to use Leopard :)

There's a few small glitches, but it works.

robposton
Nov 13, 2007, 12:41 PM
There's a few small glitches, but it works.

Care to expand on what some of the glitches are that you have found??? Thx!

GSMiller
Nov 13, 2007, 01:30 PM
According to this article (http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/07/10/29/adobe_to_update_some_creative_suite_3_apps_for_leopard.html), CS2 is NOT built for leopard.

Adobe's quote on CS2 in Leopard:
"Likely to encounter issues for which there is no resolution"

Whatever that means, only Adobe knows :rolleyes:

It was designed for PowerPC processors but runs fine under Rosetta, just a little slow.

Adobe, being the smart little company they are, didn't update CS2 to run natively on Intel processors so that way users thinking they would get better performance would pay the price to upgrade to CS3. Plus they were just too lazy to even test it on Intel obviously.

That-Is-Bull
Nov 14, 2007, 08:53 AM
Care to expand on what some of the glitches are that you have found??? Thx!

Sometimes with input menus like opacity and roundednessification, if you type in a number to change it, it'll show the new number you typed in, but when you make the rounded rectangle or whatever, it'll still be as round as it was before unless you click and drag.

Hard to explain, but they're just minor annoyances and easy to get around.