Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

UrsaMajor

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 4, 2007
My uncle gave me a set 35mm Olympus cam SLR with zuiko lenses. I haven't ever purchases an SLR but I'm well aware that lenses can cost more than the body and you're locked in to a brand with them. Can I reuse these lenses or is it best to sell them and start new? I've bought Olympus Camedia and sub compacts in the past and like the their features so a DSLR would be nice to try.

I'm just a hobbyist who wants to tinker with Digital SLR so it's not a big deal one way or another. Thanks in advance.

M@lew

macrumors 68000
Nov 18, 2006
Melbourne, Australia
I don't think you would be able to use the lenses with DSLR's. I could be wrong though, but my old Olympus lenses control the aperture/shutter speed from the lens rather from within the camera. I'd imagine this would play a pretty important factor on how the lenses work.

BanjoBanker

macrumors 6502
Aug 10, 2006
Mt Brook, AL
shutter

I don't think you would be able to use the lenses with DSLR's. I could be wrong though, but my old Olympus lenses control the aperture/shutter speed from the lens rather from within the camera. I'd imagine this would play a pretty important factor on how the lenses work.

The shutter was not controlled through the lens. The shutter control ring was on the lens mount, separate from the lens, just close by. I still have mu OM-2 and use it occaisionally. They were great cameras.

Butthead

macrumors 6502
Jan 10, 2006

The shutter was not controlled through the lens. The shutter control ring was on the lens mount, separate from the lens, just close by. I still have mu OM-2 and use it occaisionally. They were great cameras.