Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FredGarvin

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2007
Hello.

I am new to the world of digital editing and would like input from those of you who know your way around this stuff. I have many years of experience shooting and editing on tape (Beta SP, U-matic, MiniDV) and I'm used to a certain level of image quality.

Now I have a Mac Pro, just 2 months old. I recently had to produce a quick and simple project...shot on MiniDV, imported via Firewire 400, edited in iMovie HD and burned with iDVD 6 to a Verbatim 16X DataLifePlus DVD-R disc. iDVD settings used were "NTSC 4:3" and "Best Quality". This is the first time I have ever completed a project on a computer and burned it to a DVD. Everything worked as promised, but the image quality is well below the standard that I am used to.

I realize that DVDs involve compression, but this level of coarse pixelation is unacceptable. The entire video almost looks "posterized." Even stuff that I shot long ago on VHS looks better than this. Clearly, high-quality DVDs can be made; I have plenty of store-bought movies and TV shows that look great on either my TV or my computer screen. So, what is the secret?

The quality on the MiniDV tape is fine, so the loss is coming somewhere after that....the transfer, the editing, the encoding, the burning, or a combination of these steps.

I am about to drop the money for Final Cut Studio 2. Will that alone get me the results I am looking for, or is there something more that I need...a piece of hardware or software that will allow me to produce commercial-quality DVDs on a Mac Pro?

I'm grateful for any assistance you can give me in this quest. Many thanks!:confused:

Cromulent

macrumors 604
Oct 2, 2006
The Land of Hope and Glory
iMovie and iDVD were never intended to produce commercial quality DVDs.