PDA

View Full Version : NitoTV help




gquiring
Oct 20, 2007, 09:47 PM
I installed nitoTV and can't get anywhere with it. I don't understand it's file / networking. For now I copied a movie to the /mnt directory. I cannot figure out how to make nitoTV see the /mnt. It only shows me OSBoot from the file menu but no mnt appears. I assume the networking only works with smb if you have the smb stuff installed which I do not.

Next is the install software option from nito. I cannot get a clean mplayer codecs install. It always fails. I found the .pkg file (using find) and tried running installer on it (as root) but it also fails. I assume the target is /



MikieMikie
Oct 22, 2007, 05:29 PM
I installed nitoTV and can't get anywhere with it. I don't understand it's file / networking. For now I copied a movie to the /mnt directory. I cannot figure out how to make nitoTV see the /mnt. It only shows me OSBoot from the file menu but no mnt appears. I assume the networking only works with smb if you have the smb stuff installed which I do not.

Next is the install software option from nito. I cannot get a clean mplayer codecs install. It always fails. I found the .pkg file (using find) and tried running installer on it (as root) but it also fails. I assume the target is /

Gee... and under what :apple:TV menu did you find this exactly? (I'd settle for approximately.)

-- Mikie

gquiring
Oct 23, 2007, 06:40 PM
Gee... and under what :apple:TV menu did you find this exactly? (I'd settle for approximately.)

-- MikieYou can't answer the question but you can waste timing typing like a troll.

Tom Sawyer
Nov 10, 2007, 08:47 AM
I installed nitoTV and can't get anywhere with it. I don't understand it's file / networking. For now I copied a movie to the /mnt directory. I cannot figure out how to make nitoTV see the /mnt. It only shows me OSBoot from the file menu but no mnt appears. I assume the networking only works with smb if you have the smb stuff installed which I do not.

Next is the install software option from nito. I cannot get a clean mplayer codecs install. It always fails. I found the .pkg file (using find) and tried running installer on it (as root) but it also fails. I assume the target is /

What version of ATV were you running before doing the 'exploit'? I ran into problems when I tried doing the patchstick procedure on my updated 1.1 unit. I ended up doing a system restore to 1.0... then the hack as detailed on awkwardtv.org and all went well... other than being a bit let down with DVD browsing/mounting(iso) and playback interface... Was trying to replace my XBMC with ATV (see my eval on a different thread)... but that's another story.

Hope that help! :)

broadway al
May 16, 2010, 05:54 PM
What version of ATV were you running before doing the 'exploit'? I ran into problems when I tried doing the patchstick procedure on my updated 1.1 unit. I ended up doing a system restore to 1.0... then the hack as detailed on awkwardtv.org and all went well... other than being a bit let down with DVD browsing/mounting(iso) and playback interface... Was trying to replace my XBMC with ATV (see my eval on a different thread)... but that's another story.

Hope that help! :)
Can anyone give me an idea of what Nito means by stream manager?
If I click on any stream that is listed I get an error so I open up the add stream in the stream manager and I don't have a clue as to what they want.
Is boxee or Hulu or Netflix a stream? and if I enter the location of say netflix will it let me stream my watch instantly queue?