Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Xanis

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 18, 2007
I know there have probably been a billion of these threads already, but I wanted to get some quick input. I've been shopping for a DSLR for a while now and I think I have it narrowed down to two: the Nikon D40 and the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi. From what I've read and seen, these are the two main choices for amateur photographers. My girlfriend has a D40 (which I've used) and I like it, but the higher resolution of the XTi is kind of drawing me in. Will I notice a difference in quality between 6 and 8 megapixels, and is it even worth worrying about? The thing that I don't like about the XTi is that it uses CF cards, which I have no experience with, so I'm not sure how good they are. Battery life is important as well. I don't want to get a camera that eats batteries up really fast. So bottom line is, which one would be better? I'm going to be doing mainly urban landscapes and some people shooting, if that makes a difference. Thanks!

Mr. B

macrumors regular
Dec 25, 2005
You are obviously a newcomer to the DSLR world so I'm going to assume you currently have no lenses.

Since you have no lenses the only real choice for you is to go for the xti.

I'll explain.

The DSLR body is a great piece of machinery. It allows you to take faster better less noiser pictures. It decidedes how many megapixels you have in each picture you take, it does many many wonderful things.

It does not, however, take the actual picture.

The lens is what does this.

Assuming you have a limited amount of money to spend on the body of the camera, if you buy the D40 you will probably have to stick with the kit lens.