PDA

View Full Version : Large site web hosting......what is the solution?

Waluigi
Sep 7, 2003, 03:51 PM
I've been a web designer for 5 years now, and I feel it is time to consolidate all my work for my clients, and get my own webspace for all my personal projects. I was looking into Dot5 Dedecated hosting for $75/mo (http://www.dot5hosting.com/index.php). Would that be enough to host a website like macrumors.com? It will have a vBulliten forum on it, and I have no idea how much space that takes up. I do know, that I will need a LOT of bandwidth, and pages have to load fast, including large flash files. Is there something out there for less then $300/mo that would be able to host a very large site like macrumors, and still be very reliable and fast? It will also have Google Adsense, but I don't know if that generate any revenue. How much money is realistic for about 500,000 views/mo?

--Waluigi

Waluigi
Sep 7, 2003, 10:28 PM
Wow, no one has any expierence in hosting a large website?

arn
Sep 7, 2003, 10:40 PM
Heh...

Lots of questions....

Moving to a dedicated sever can be for a few primary reasons:

1) Bandwidth... usually you have a much higher bandwidth limit.
2) Processing Power - you are running scripts/pages which are bogging down shared servers
3) Freedom - to do things and install things you want.

Now, the $75/mo Dedicated from dot5 Hosting would not likely be able to host MacRumors. It's hard to compare sites though. A server like that could easily serve tons of static pages. The forums and mysql server for MacRumors requires a bit more power.

We are currently on 2 Dedicated servers.

Dual P3 w/ 2GB RAM for forums/mysql
Single P3 w/ 1GB RAM for macrumors.com

along with my other smaller projects.

When you say a LOT of bandwidth, how much are we talking?

arn

Waluigi
Sep 7, 2003, 10:52 PM
Originally posted by arn
When you say a LOT of bandwidth, how much are we talking?

Thanks for the info