PDA

View Full Version : G5 Owners- Hey, what RAM you got running?


GigaWire
Sep 7, 2003, 10:10 PM
This is for any and all G5 owners:

1. What Ram is Apple shipping by default?
2. What RAM have you installed yourself, meaning manufacturer, speed, etc.

bravo

Waluigi
Sep 7, 2003, 10:12 PM
I ordered my dual with 1GB of ram, and will not be installing any third party ram. If I ever need more, I'll overpay for Apple's ram.

--Waluigi

colinet
Sep 7, 2003, 11:37 PM
I've orderd my dual with 1 Gig too but i'll be buying at least another 1 or 2 Gig non Apple ram at half or less the price. I've used non Apple ram in several machines with no problems at all (as long as you follow Apple's specs) After all it's not like Apple make their own ram themsevles anyway.

Chaszmyr
Sep 8, 2003, 01:04 AM
I ordered my dual 2ghz G5 with 1gb of RAM, and bought an additional 1gb from Crucial

MattG
Sep 8, 2003, 07:30 AM
I'm still waiting for my G5, however I've got 1gb worth of Corsair RAM to stick in there. That's the brand I always used in my PCs...always worked well.

Rezet
Sep 8, 2003, 03:11 PM
Kingston is my choice. Don't buy it from their website though, retailers such as circuit city and best buy sell it for around 75 bucks for 512mbs with rebates.