PDA

View Full Version : What is your average FPS during handbrake?




je1ani
Oct 27, 2007, 01:30 PM
I usually start off at 75-80 but 30min later I drop to around 45-50 and when the movies almost done I am usually at 25-30... is this normal? Check my sig for my system specs... It feels as if the movies encodes at realtime...



eddyg
Oct 27, 2007, 02:45 PM
I usually start off at 75-80 but 30min later I drop to around 45-50 and when the movies almost done I am usually at 25-30... is this normal? Check my sig for my system specs... It feels as if the movies encodes at realtime...

The rate is determined by the settings you use, some settings will get you 2fps, some will get you 200fps for the same material on the same machine.

The fps you are getting is consistent with the machine you have, and a relatively low complexity settings.

The fact that the fps is higher at the start than at the end is that the credits at the start are usually easier to encode than the rest of the movie, less movement. The fps does change with the complexity of the material.

Check the HandBrake Bechmark forums for more info.

Cheers, Ed.

pdpfilms
Oct 27, 2007, 03:03 PM
I average about 50 using 2-pass H.264 at native resolution (usually 720x480) and 23.98fps.

Forced Perfect
Oct 28, 2007, 06:42 AM
Using the new Apple TV preset (H.264, etc) I average 3 fps-ish on my 1.25 GHz G4. I usually start it before going to work. :P

powerbook911
Oct 28, 2007, 12:29 PM
I average about 50 using 2-pass H.264 at native resolution (usually 720x480) and 23.98fps.

Wow. That sure is good FPS. I do 2 pass H264 at 480p, and I get about 20-24fps. What kind of Mac do you have? Must be a Mac Pro?

I have 2.4 GHZ iMac Core 2 Duo.

pdpfilms
Oct 28, 2007, 12:44 PM
Wow. That sure is good FPS. I do 2 pass H264 at 480p, and I get about 20-24fps. What kind of Mac do you have? Must be a Mac Pro?

I have 2.4 GHZ iMac Core 2 Duo.

Suppose I should have posted that.:rolleyes:

I'm using a 2.5Ghz G5 Quad w/ 4.5GB RAM. It's about 20x faster than my 1.67Ghz PB w/ 2GB RAM

powerbook911
Oct 28, 2007, 02:16 PM
Suppose I should have posted that.:rolleyes:

I'm using a 2.5Ghz G5 Quad w/ 4.5GB RAM. It's about 20x faster than my 1.67Ghz PB w/ 2GB RAM

Awesome!!! Good to see G5 Quads have amazing performance.

Evangelion
Oct 28, 2007, 02:25 PM
I'm currently in the middle of encoding "The Big Lebowski" (88% done). So far I have averaged about 31.38FPS. This is with MacBook Pro with 2.4Ghz C2D. I'm using iPod-presets and I'm ripping straight from the DVD; as opposed to ripping the movie to HD and converting it from there.

je1ani
Oct 28, 2007, 02:48 PM
I'm using an iMac C2E and I'm currently at 35fps... would adding ram fix this?

powerbook911
Oct 29, 2007, 01:55 AM
What about me? Why do I get only approx 20 FPS average with a iMac Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHZ and 3 GB of memory?

SpaceMagic
Oct 29, 2007, 06:33 AM
I don't get it :p

I have a MacBook Core 2 Duo 2Ghz with 2GB of Ram... AppleTV settings... I get 12fps average... pretty poor I think!!

How does one speed this up?

MikieMikie
Oct 29, 2007, 07:21 AM
Macbook Pro 2.1 Core Duo (NOT Core 2 Duo), 1 GB RAM.
Ripped with MacTheRipper, then Handbraked using AppleTV preset:

With Tiger:

~9 FPS.

With Leopard:

~12 FPS.

-- Mikie

Yvan256
Oct 29, 2007, 10:31 AM
Using the new Apple TV preset (H.264, etc) I average 3 fps-ish on my 1.25 GHz G4. I usually start it before going to work. :P

Wow your framerate is really low! My computer is much faster than that!

I get 4 fps-ish on my 1.42GHz G4! ;)

(hey don't laugh it's 25% faster) :D

SpaceMagic
Oct 29, 2007, 10:40 AM
Wow your framerate is really low! My computer is much faster than that!

I get 4 fps-ish on my 1.42GHz G4! ;)

(hey don't laugh it's 25% faster) :D

Isn't 4 fps, 33% faster than 3 fps?

ejbenjamin
Oct 29, 2007, 10:50 AM
I've got a single 1.6GHz G5 PowerMac with 3GB RAM. Using the AppleTV preset, but with 2-pass on, I get about 7 fps on the turbo first pass and about 4 fps on the second pass. I rip straight from the DVD. Pretty much any movie gets done within a day.

Yvan256
Oct 30, 2007, 08:42 AM
Isn't 4 fps, 33% faster than 3 fps?

Oups, you're right. Hey, it's better than I expected! ;)

scmacdaddy
Oct 30, 2007, 09:24 AM
Oups, you're right. Hey, it's better than I expected! ;)

isn't it oops? :rolleyes: (couldn't resist)

Rooskibar03
Oct 30, 2007, 08:15 PM
isn't it oops? :rolleyes: (couldn't resist)

Depends on what part of the country your in. Down south its oups :D

On Topic G5 2.0 iMac and I'm lucky to get 5fps when encoding for :apple:TV and maybe 9-10 when doing it for my iPhone.

Evangelion
Oct 31, 2007, 07:58 AM
I don't get it :p

I have a MacBook Core 2 Duo 2Ghz with 2GB of Ram... AppleTV settings... I get 12fps average... pretty poor I think!!

How does one speed this up?

What makes you think that that's poor? Because people like me get 30+ FPS? Keep in mind that it boils down to the settings. I use iPod-presets, you use AppleTV-presets. That means that I encode the movie to lower resolution and with lower bitrates, whereas your settings are considerably more demanding.

MikieMikie
Oct 31, 2007, 11:20 AM
I don't get it :p

I have a MacBook Core 2 Duo 2Ghz with 2GB of Ram... AppleTV settings... I get 12fps average... pretty poor I think!!

How does one speed this up?

One buys more processing power.

I recently went to the Apple Store and, using a Mac Pro (Dual Quad 2.X, where X is the cheapest, slowest in the Mac Pro), and converted a download "Desparate Housewives" episode using iTunes.

Needless to say, it took me a long time (> 1 hour) to do on my MBP what this machine did in, literally, under a minute.

And who says size doesn't matter?

-- Mikie ;)

juanster
Dec 31, 2008, 04:18 PM
oh, okay then hahah i came in expecting to find a solution to my "super slow" processing, it is at an avg 11fps, with the HB apple preset, but i guess that's about right for a 2.0 Ghz MB core 2 duo with 3 g of ram...hmmmm guess this is going to take a couple of days then. I suppose it isn't but never hurts to ask, not here anyways.. is this not bad for my computer? to be on 3 days straight with over 90 celsius the whole time?

NightStorm
Dec 31, 2008, 04:28 PM
I average 4-11 FPS, based on source and complexity of the encode.

Pyropaul555
Mar 19, 2010, 01:01 AM
I get pretty high fps on my Macbook Pro. With all of the default settings I'm getting 35-40 fps

millar876
Mar 19, 2010, 03:53 AM
H264 2pass @ 2500kbps 720x480 (strict anamorphic 1024x576) 6ch discreet audio @ ~380kbps I get arround 70-80 fps

with mpeg4 (xvid) and all the other settings the same I get 210-240fps

I'm using 64bit handbreak and 64bit vlc on my iMac (21.5" 3.06GHz core 2 duo radion HD4670 4GB RAM)

zedsdead
Mar 19, 2010, 06:08 AM
iMac i7:

DVD - 100-150fps (Universal Preset)
HD Source - 24-60fps, depending on the source and output size (Apple TV Preset)

dukebound85
May 6, 2010, 05:09 AM
I get around 90 fps on normal preset (h.264; 60.78 quality) on my quad core 2.4ghz

alehel
May 6, 2010, 06:51 AM
With my Macbook Pro 2.5 GHz C2D 2GB RAM, I get between 8 and 12 fps when converting blu-ray rips using the Apple TV preset and a resolution of 1280x(whatever the height comes to).

DoFoT9
May 6, 2010, 06:54 AM
With my Macbook Pro 2.5 GHz C2D 2GB RAM, I get between 8 and 12 fps when converting blu-ray rips using the Apple TV preset and a resolution of 1280x(whatever the height comes to).

converting BD rips i get roughly 19fps on some high demanding settings. with apple TV preset its more like 30fps i think.

alehel
May 6, 2010, 07:43 AM
converting BD rips i get roughly 19fps on some high demanding settings. with apple TV preset its more like 30fps i think.

:( Me wants new computer.

I'm pretty happy with the quality of my files and the speed of the encodes. I usually rip the disk with MakeMKV in the morning when I wake up, and then load the mkv into handbrake for encoding when I leave for work, which means I usually have a finished encode waiting for me when I get home.

DoFoT9
May 6, 2010, 07:45 AM
:( Me wants new computer.

I'm pretty happy with the quality of my files and the speed of the encodes. I usually rip the disk with MakeMKV in the morning when I wake up, and then load the mkv into handbrake for encoding when I leave for work, which means I usually have a finished encode waiting for me when I get home.

your getting further then me then :P i need to get myself another BD drive - as my ps3 cant rip them anymore :(

why do you convert them? i normally leave them as .mkv and stream them back to my PS3. i guess you have a apple TV?

spice weasel
May 6, 2010, 08:39 AM
iMac i7:

DVD - 100-150fps (Universal Preset)
HD Source - 24-60fps, depending on the source and output size (Apple TV Preset)

Yup. Man I just love my iMac i7! That thing rips through encodes like a hot knife through butter. My old iMac G5 would take 8-10 hours to finish a movie. My new iMac does it in 10 minutes.

dXTC
May 6, 2010, 09:43 AM
My iMac with 2.0GHz C2D gets 45-60 fps from the DVD, and 85-100 fps from a HD source. Not terribly bad for an "old" machine.

Then again, I use iPod Lo Res preset, as my target player is my nano. If I ever got an AppleTV, I'd probably re-encode at higher resolutions and bitrates, which would significantly reduce my FPS.

brentsg
May 6, 2010, 11:55 AM
My hexcore box gets crazy performance, but it does depend on the settings a ton. If I use the settings that I liked for DVD but for HD material, I can knock my i980x down to like 15FPS.

Forestdeath
May 6, 2010, 12:07 PM
I assume FPS doesn't affect video quality?

dynaflash
May 6, 2010, 01:16 PM
I assume FPS doesn't affect video quality?
Correct, video quality is in no terms affected by the speed of the encoding. If it takes two weeks or two minutes all things being equal otherwise the output from hb will be identical.

I would also draw attention to the HB Benchmarks forum for speed comparisons if one wishes. http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewforum.php?f=9

maghemi
May 6, 2010, 05:42 PM
My 3,1 Mac pro is out putting 230fps for encoding a ripped DVD to the apple TV preset.

Seems a little fast to me, though the CPU utilization is around 95% on all 8 cores.

jboehm
May 11, 2010, 08:28 PM
My hexcore box gets crazy performance, but it does depend on the settings a ton. If I use the settings that I liked for DVD but for HD material, I can knock my i980x down to like 15FPS.

brentsg,

Do you have the info for how you build a box around the 980x? Your the first I heard that who has been successful. Everyone else who have tried have been plagued by shutdowns and continues reboots. Hopefully we can take this to a different site/thread for the details.

Thanks...


PS (to everyone else: Sorry for the the thread highjack. Hopefully we can take this somewhere else)

DoFoT9
May 11, 2010, 11:56 PM
brentsg,

Do you have the info for how you build a box around the 980x? Your the first I heard that who has been successful. Everyone else who have tried have been plagued by shutdowns and continues reboots. Hopefully we can take this to a different site/thread for the details.

Thanks...


PS (to everyone else: Sorry for the the thread highjack. Hopefully we can take this somewhere else)

the first to build a computer? really? :rolleyes:

handbrake runs on PCs and linux too - it wont necessarily be hacked.

pb1300
May 12, 2010, 01:14 AM
OT: I just recently ripped my last DVD (300+), and I am now going to start the Handbrake process. I have my Apple devices, but the rips are mainly going to be for my :apple: TV on my 42 incher. Can someone recommend the best preset for my setup, and any additional settings I should change? The DVDs are regular rips, 4-7gb, non-BR, except for a few. Would the settings be the same with the BR rips?

CrAkD
May 12, 2010, 10:47 AM
You ripped all the DVDs first?:eek: you must have some big hard drives lol


I get like 100-150fps on my custom built i7

pb1300
May 13, 2010, 04:21 AM
You ripped all the DVDs first?:eek: you must have some big hard drives lol


I get like 100-150fps on my custom built i7

If you were replying to me, then yes I do. I have two 2tb external drives.

randy98mtu
May 13, 2010, 06:10 AM
your getting further then me then :P i need to get myself another BD drive - as my ps3 cant rip them anymore :(

Is this because of the latest PS3 software? I've heard they disabled other OS's. I haven't booted mine in Game OS in a while. I am stuck with 3 rips on my Mini and I need to buy MakeMKV before I can finish them now. :(

And I do the same thing, sort of. I leave them as raw MKV's stored on an external connected to my Mini and play them through Plex. I seldom take anything through Handbrake anymore. I'm not feeling the need to have my latest movie rips in anything but 1080p.

DoFoT9
May 13, 2010, 06:16 AM
Is this because of the latest PS3 software? I've heard they disabled other OS's. I haven't booted mine in Game OS in a while. I am stuck with 3 rips on my Mini and I need to buy MakeMKV before I can finish them now. :(
yuuup its because of the OS update - but they might bring it back, there is a lawsuit going around somewhere..

And I do the same thing, sort of. I leave them as raw MKV's stored on an external connected to my Mini and play them through Plex. I seldom take anything through Handbrake anymore. I'm not feeling the need to have my latest movie rips in anything but 1080p.
yup i do the same, but then play them back thru the network to my PS3. its wonderful!

gmanist1000
Mar 20, 2012, 08:51 PM
Reading back on this thread, it's amazing seeing people getting under 20 FPS with their old Mac's. My iMac gets 140 FPS now lol.

atandon
Mar 20, 2012, 10:28 PM
Reading back on this thread, it's amazing seeing people getting under 20 FPS with their old Mac's. My iMac gets 140 FPS now lol.

Ummm.. with what type of source, preset and RF value?
This number changes dramatically based on what values u set for each of these parameters

mic j
Mar 21, 2012, 09:03 AM
Currently encoding Avatar blu ray from mkv. MBP 2.66MHz Duo Core w 8GB RAM. Using the High Profile setting (RF=20). I am dying here. I have been running for 12 hours and only 64% done. Average frame rate 3.5. :confused:

luke.mac1
Mar 21, 2012, 09:18 AM
It very much depends on the settings for encoding and the video source.
If you provided a sample video and the settings we were to use, then we could give you a sensible answer...

CrAkD
Mar 21, 2012, 09:40 AM
I've been getting 8-15fps converting blurays with HIGH preset. Takes about 4 hours a movie.

ftaok
Mar 21, 2012, 09:57 AM
I've been getting 8-15fps converting blurays with HIGH preset. Takes about 4 hours a movie.

I'm assuming that's with your i7 Hackintosh. This is disheartening. I'm getting about 15 fps on DVDs (AppleTV2 preset) with my Pentium Dual Core Hackbook. I'd hate to see it on blurays.

NightStorm
Mar 21, 2012, 10:00 AM
On my 2008 3.06GHz iMac, I'm currently averaging 3FPS on a 1080p encode (Bluray source) using a preset based off of the x264 slower preset and film tune. I'll likely look at replacing this system when the 2012 Mac Mini Server update is (hopefully) released this Summer.

Macman45
Mar 21, 2012, 10:06 AM
Custom imac 27" 17 16GB RAM, getting 165fps or thereabouts.:)

Still playing though...Won't be happy until I have a file size that suits my new iPad 2012....64GB soon gets chewed.

CrAkD
Mar 21, 2012, 10:08 AM
I'm assuming that's with your i7 Hackintosh. This is disheartening. I'm getting about 15 fps on DVDs (AppleTV2 preset) with my Pentium Dual Core Hackbook. I'd hate to see it on blurays.

Yeah I get like 70-99fps on DVDs.

dynaflash
Mar 21, 2012, 10:10 AM
As has been said by some previously ... encoding speed information is *worthless* without knowing the source and settings while using hb.

My i5 can pull 160 fps down to about 2 fps with just a couple changes in filters and advanced options.

CrAkD
Mar 21, 2012, 10:14 AM
Custom imac 27" 17 16GB RAM, getting 165fps or thereabouts.:)

Still playing though...Won't be happy until I have a file size that suits my new iPad 2012....64GB soon gets chewed.

Must be DVDs on lower settings. My hackintosh gets about the same geekbench score as your iMac and I'd only get fps that high if I have real low settings selected.

atandon
Mar 21, 2012, 10:17 AM
I've been getting 8-15fps converting blurays with HIGH preset. Takes about 4 hours a movie.

I get similar numbers on my 2.93 Ghz imac
Anywhere between 3 to 4 hours for 1080p with RF=18
FPS can vary between 10 and 20

Macman45
Mar 21, 2012, 10:21 AM
Must be DVDs on lower settings. My hackintosh gets about the same geekbench score as your iMac and I'd only get fps that high if I have real low settings selected.

Ordinary DVD's not Blu-ray... I think that's the difference here...I have a Blu-Ray compatible DTS system and own just one Blu-Ray DVD...Inception...Have not even watced it yet...Have been concentrating on LOTR series...Directors box set...Still a compromise between quality and file size though.

sprawl2
Jun 26, 2012, 09:28 PM
Though't I'd chime in.

I'm getting about 200 fps on my 2.3 GHz retina MBP.

Directly from an external DVD drive, normal preset. It's great.

hipnetic
Jun 26, 2012, 09:59 PM
Too many replies here which have no information on the specific settings used or the hardware specs of the computer doing the job. Without those two things, the information you're providing is useless.

Phil22
Jun 27, 2012, 02:55 AM
Average is 10fps on high setting with blu ray content. That's on a windows machine with a AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition "125W Edition" 3.40GHz.

Encoding blu ray content is really wanting me to get a 6 core CPU, I love how handbrake takes all of your CPU cores and maxes them all out! Must be the only software I use that uses as many cores as you've got at 100%