PDA

View Full Version : Linksys and Airport


rman2008
Sep 10, 2003, 08:18 PM
Hey,

I posted a thread about something similar a few weeks ago, but didn't really get the response I was looking for. I'm buying the Linksys WPC11 Wireless B-Network Adapter. I'm new to the wireless networking thing, so is it possible to get that PC on an existing AirPort Network I have set up. Or, do I need to pitch the AirPort and use a Linksys Router, but, will the AirPort card on my g4 still work?

help would honestly be appreciated,

rman2008

tomf87
Sep 10, 2003, 08:41 PM
I haven't had a problem yet mixing either AirPort cards on a PC-based WLAN or vice versa. This is similar to using a D-Link router and a Dell PC Card.

If you are using WEP, just make sure to enter those keys on the Linksys configuration. 802.11b is a standard so mixing vendors should not be an issue.

rman2008
Sep 10, 2003, 08:42 PM
thanks, that sounds awesome