PDA

View Full Version : Wireless slowly dies after Leopard upgrade, users report


MacBytes
Nov 1, 2007, 09:01 AM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: Mac OS X
Link: Wireless slowly dies after Leopard upgrade, users report (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20071101100147)
Description:: none

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by Mudbug

Killyp
Nov 1, 2007, 09:22 AM
Yeh I'm having this issue.

When it dies to zero, if I click on the AirPort menu I get an instant kernel panic...

samh004
Nov 1, 2007, 09:34 AM
Sorry to hear that, not had that issue myself here, luckily, but wondering what speeds I should be getting to my Airport Disk in 802.11n... 2mb/s seems rather slow :p

kkat69
Nov 1, 2007, 11:48 AM
This must be for computers other than the new Al iMac. However if people can get past the locking freezing on the Al iMacs they might be reporting the wireless issues as well. Sadly the machines lock up before we can even get to '0'

pgwalsh
Nov 1, 2007, 11:49 AM
I don't have the issue either, but I have a D-Link USB wireless card. I have a better connection with Leopard than with Tiger. I also used to have to unplug and plug the device in after a startup or awaking from sleep mode. I don't have any of those issues now.

I have found various quirks in Leopard, but nothing serious or inhibiting my ability to do anything. For instance. I have a smart folder that lists all files of certain sizes, but I no longer can get the option to view that actual file size within those folders. Another one is that I had a mail rule that would make a sound every time I received an email from a friend. Now it makes a sound every time I send an email to a friend. Just little quirks like that. hehe

montex
Nov 1, 2007, 01:04 PM
Does anyone else get the impression that Computerworld.co.nz is trolling the Apple Discussion board looking for things to pick at? The whole article seems to be nothing more than an opportunity to trumpet the phrase "Apple fix please Leopard is useless."

I wonder if they get a fax directly from Redmond or if they just shill for the sheer joy of it.

pgwalsh
Nov 1, 2007, 01:08 PM
I wonder if they get a fax directly from Redmond or if they just shill for the sheer joy of it.Ha! Perhaps when Steve Ballmer ran on stage and said, "Give it up for me," they took him literally.

I honestly think they are just ill informed and thought they had something where they didn't.

killerrobot
Nov 1, 2007, 02:14 PM
If you do a quick search on any mac based forums you'll see that this is a real issue as well as loss of support for many USB 2 external HD.
Just because a few people haven't had the problem doesn't mean it doesn't exist - and these seem pretty widespread.
Here's just one of the threads (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=378679) I've come across

xtbfx
Nov 1, 2007, 04:40 PM
Well, after Leopard, my wireless signal has never been 4 bars (full) on the airport. I'm even in the same room with the wireless router.

It just went down to 2 bars. Nice. I haven't noticed any slowdown though.

pauld
Nov 1, 2007, 06:18 PM
i do, and it's driving me nuts

flopticalcube
Nov 1, 2007, 06:25 PM
I have not noticed dropouts or low signal in either my MB or my mini. Haven't upgraded the iMacs yet (due to Leopard freezing). Airport has improved for me under Leopard except for Airport Utility which still can't seem to find the AEBS frequently (and it sits a foot away :rolleyes:).

stcanard
Nov 1, 2007, 06:30 PM
In the absence of anything else, I would wonder if it has something to do with leopards automatic TCP buffer resizing (http://arstechnica.com/journals/apple.ars/2007/10/29/alook-at-leopards-network-enhancements) which is know already to cause problems on certain networks.

I have no idea if there is a way to fix it at 32k, but those with problems might want to look into it.

ofcr124
Nov 3, 2007, 08:29 PM
I upgraded my MB on the 26th and have noted no degrading of my wireless connection (I have an Airport Extreme Wireless router). I believe I have noted an INCREASE in the amount of time I can run on battery after I upgraded! Am I just imagining this or has anyone else seen this?

OFCR123:confused: