PDA

View Full Version : Using MBP ram in Powerbook G4




alienurbanite
Nov 2, 2007, 10:50 AM
Hi everbody,

I recently ordered a MBP 2.4 ghz 17" 2GB ram laptop which should be delivered later this week. I intend to upgrade to either 3 or 4GB of ram myself. My question is whether I can use the existing 1GB sticks from the MBP on my Powerbook G4 1.3 ghz (circa fall 2004)?

How about a windows based PC? If I upgrade to 4GB, I'll have 2 x 1GB ram sitting around and I was planning on sticking one in my powerbook and one in my gfs NEC laptop if that's possible.

Thanks for your help! I'm dying to take delivery of the new laptop!:)



AlBDamned
Nov 2, 2007, 10:55 AM
Hi everbody,

I recently ordered a MBP 2.4 ghz 17" 2GB ram laptop which should be delivered later this week. I intend to upgrade to either 3 or 4GB of ram myself. My question is whether I can use the existing 1GB sticks from the MBP on my Powerbook G4 1.3 ghz (circa fall 2004)?

How about a windows based PC? If I upgrade to 4GB, I'll have 2 x 1GB ram sitting around and I was planning on sticking one in my powerbook and one in my gfs NEC laptop if that's possible.

Thanks for your help! I'm dying to take delivery of the new laptop!:)

Calling CanadaRAM...Calling CanadaRAM...

zioxide
Nov 2, 2007, 10:56 AM
No in the PB. Powerbooks take PC 2700 ram and the MBP ram is PC2 5300

Your gf's laptop depends on what the specs are. If it takes PC2 5300, it will work.