PDA

View Full Version : I GOT MY G5! my first Mac


adamfilip
Sep 16, 2003, 11:01 PM
well finally the machine ive waited soo long for has finally landed on my desk.

I have been a long time Wintel guy
fixing, assembling pcs for myself and friends, family.. for many years.

I got a 1.6 g5 today. and added 1gb of ram so now its running 1.25 gigs of ram. on an otherwize stock 1.6.

other then that here is my setup

Apple G5 1.6 , 1.25gb DDR
21" Dell Trinintron CRT
Apple Isight
Apple Ipod 5gb
Epson 1660 Photo Scanner
Griffen Powermate

so far its a great machine.. seems very quick. (compared to my old athlon 1.4)
photoshop is very quick. especially with all this ram.. ill run benchmarks if anyone is curious.

Im very glad i switched..

now i just gotta figure out how to sync my Sony Clie SJ20 with OSX.. any suggestions?

mikeyredk
Sep 16, 2003, 11:16 PM
boooooooobooooooboooobooooo
deelll
you almost had the perfect setup

adamfilip
Sep 16, 2003, 11:24 PM
well its really a sony monitor in a dell case

nospleen
Sep 16, 2003, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by adamfilip
well finally the machine ive waited soo long for has finally landed on my desk.

I have been a long time Wintel guy
fixing, assembling pcs for myself and friends, family.. for many years.

I got a 1.6 g5 today. and added 1gb of ram so now its running 1.25 gigs of ram. on an otherwize stock 1.6.

other then that here is my setup

Apple G5 1.6 , 1.25gb DDR
21" Dell Trinintron CRT
Apple Isight
Apple Ipod 5gb
Epson 1660 Photo Scanner
Griffen Powermate

so far its a great machine.. seems very quick. (compared to my old athlon 1.4)
photoshop is very quick. especially with all this ram.. ill run benchmarks if anyone is curious.

Im very glad i switched..

now i just gotta figure out how to sync my Sony Clie SJ20 with OSX.. any suggestions?

Please run xbench and see what you get. I just ordered a gig of ram and I am anxious to see the improvements. (make sure to go under sys prefs/energy saver/ and set the processor speed to 'highest'. Thanks!

Catfish_Man
Sep 16, 2003, 11:44 PM
Originally posted by adamfilip
well its really a sony monitor in a dell case

Ignore him. I've always heard excellent things about Dell's monitors and service, whatever the rest of their stuff is like (about average, from what I know, but I haven't heard much about it).

adamfilip
Sep 16, 2003, 11:46 PM
your wish is my demand

here is the latest version of xbench running on my 1.6 with max performace set in prefernced

Results 143.10
System Info
Xbench Version 1.1.1
System Version 10.2.7 (G5) (6S80)
Physical RAM 1280 MB
Model PowerMac7,2
Processor PowerPC 970 @ 1.60 GHz
L1 Cache 64K (instruction), 32K (data)
L2 Cache 512K @ 1.60 GHz
Bus Frequency 800 MHz
Video Card GeForce FX 5200
Drive Type ST380013AS
CPU Test 150.51
GCD Loop 89.00 3.48 Mops/sec
Floating Point Basic 252.48 913.05 Mflop/sec
AltiVec Basic 108.94 3.16 Gflop/sec
vecLib FFT 177.58 2.76 Gflop/sec
Floating Point Library 311.17 12.46 Mops/sec
Thread Test 93.02
Computation 66.73 534.28 Kops/sec, 4 threads
Lock Contention 153.49 1.93 Mlocks/sec, 4 threads
Memory Test 227.22
System 220.20
Allocate 403.29 271.94 Kalloc/sec
Fill 159.37 1268.57 MB/sec
Copy 205.36 1026.81 MB/sec
Stream 234.69
Copy 199.78 1460.39 MB/sec [G5]
Scale 204.72 1510.87 MB/sec [G5]
Add 271.42 1737.06 MB/sec [G5]
Triad 288.27 1761.34 MB/sec [G5]
Quartz Graphics Test 171.70
Line 182.96 4.66 Klines/sec [50% alpha]
Rectangle 193.91 13.64 Krects/sec [50% alpha]
Circle 199.23 4.59 Kcircles/sec [50% alpha]
Bezier 150.88 1.64 Kbeziers/sec [50% alpha]
Text 145.97 2.38 Kchars/sec
OpenGL Graphics Test 187.45
Spinning Squares 187.45 131.17 frames/sec
User Interface Test 155.16
Elements 155.16 49.91 refresh/sec
Disk Test 105.06
Sequential 112.90
Uncached Write 138.11 54.98 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Write 133.47 52.10 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Uncached Read 77.46 12.26 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Read 128.45 51.90 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Random 98.23
Uncached Write 89.32 1.28 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Write 101.55 22.90 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Uncached Read 93.41 0.62 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Read 111.48 22.94 MB/sec [256K blocks]



not bad for a 1.6

nospleen
Sep 16, 2003, 11:48 PM
not bad for a 1.6 [/B][/QUOTE]

Not bad at all! I am looking forward to getting my ram. Hey, you need to change your signature, your G5 is here!!

adamfilip
Sep 16, 2003, 11:54 PM
just for comparisons sake here are the results with performance set to reduced.

Results 123.48
System Info
Xbench Version 1.1.1
System Version 10.2.7 (G5) (6S80)
Physical RAM 1280 MB
Model PowerMac7,2
Processor PowerPC 970 @ 1.60 GHz
L1 Cache 64K (instruction), 32K (data)
L2 Cache 512K @ 1.60 GHz
Bus Frequency 800 MHz
Video Card GeForce FX 5200
Drive Type ST380013AS
CPU Test 122.38
GCD Loop 72.15 2.82 Mops/sec
Floating Point Basic 210.00 759.44 Mflop/sec
AltiVec Basic 88.61 2.57 Gflop/sec
vecLib FFT 142.77 2.22 Gflop/sec
Floating Point Library 253.49 10.15 Mops/sec
Thread Test 75.71
Computation 54.20 433.92 Kops/sec, 4 threads
Lock Contention 125.55 1.58 Mlocks/sec, 4 threads
Memory Test 207.90
System 198.24
Allocate 331.25 223.36 Kalloc/sec
Fill 135.24 1076.55 MB/sec
Copy 211.84 1059.19 MB/sec
Stream 218.55
Copy 188.79 1380.08 MB/sec [G5]
Scale 190.59 1406.53 MB/sec [G5]
Add 249.18 1594.74 MB/sec [G5]
Triad 267.01 1631.44 MB/sec [G5]
Quartz Graphics Test 146.21
Line 152.43 3.88 Klines/sec [50% alpha]
Rectangle 169.89 11.95 Krects/sec [50% alpha]
Circle 170.61 3.93 Kcircles/sec [50% alpha]
Bezier 126.59 1.38 Kbeziers/sec [50% alpha]
Text 125.17 2.04 Kchars/sec
OpenGL Graphics Test 154.31
Spinning Squares 154.31 107.98 frames/sec
User Interface Test 132.06
Elements 132.06 42.48 refresh/sec
Disk Test 104.11
Sequential 112.22
Uncached Write 138.17 55.00 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Write 133.53 52.12 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Uncached Read 76.14 12.05 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Read 128.45 51.90 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Random 97.09
Uncached Write 86.90 1.24 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Write 100.92 22.76 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Uncached Read 93.09 0.61 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Read 110.64 22.77 MB/sec [256K blocks]

nospleen
Sep 16, 2003, 11:57 PM
It is kind of a pain in the ass, but would you try it with the ram out and the performance on highest? If not, I undertand.:cool:

adamfilip
Sep 17, 2003, 12:08 AM
although i am also interested

i dont wanna keep swapping ram in and out.

sorry :)

nospleen
Sep 17, 2003, 12:09 AM
Originally posted by adamfilip
although i am also interested

i dont wanna keep swapping ram in and out.

sorry :)

Completely understandable!! My 1.8 scored a 154 stock, so I was trying to get an idea of what the 1gig I have on order will do. Anyway, enjoy your new G5 and thank you for the benchmarks!!

teufel
Sep 17, 2003, 12:28 AM
Hi,

to sync with a sony, you have to buy Missing sync, on line, and it works perfectly well.

But first you should install the Palm desktop, befoer installing the missing sync. I seem to remeber it costs 69 $.

I sync a clie 615 with my powerbook, and it's perfect.

Should you wish to be more elegant, you can buy a Tungsten T2, and sync by bluetooth (wireless), which will save you the cost of the Missing sync softwre. Or upgrade to a clie 50, which also has bluetooth installed.

Have fun with your G5,

Pierre:)

hulugu
Sep 17, 2003, 12:29 AM
As I understand it, there is a special program called Missing Sync that someone made for the Sony Clie. I believe it works for the one you mentioned.

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/15025[URL=http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/15025]

candan9019
Sep 17, 2003, 12:44 AM
You may not have to buy missing sync. Sony's work with isync sometimes. Apple says it does though. I had a SJ-33 and it worked fine with isync. Why does everyone always say missing sync everytime? Save your money.

teufel
Sep 17, 2003, 01:28 AM
As much as i did not like paying extra money to be able to sync (it worked out of the box on a PC notebook i had), i have to confirm that, once i tried to sync on my brand new TiBook, it did not work at all, although i had been able to sync wirelessly (usb bluetooth dongle) with my sony-ericsoon T68 gsm.

I had to download and buy Missing sync, in order to have it work.

Mind you, once it is installed, it is as if it was not there, which means that you just run the palm desktop, and it works.

It makes you wonder why Sony is not able to activate it on a Mac...:confused:

adamfilip
Sep 17, 2003, 10:56 AM
well i figured it out.

just downloaded palm desktop for mac
downloaded the palm conduit for isync

and poof. its perfect

man i love OSX

its just so easy.. everything just works..

nospleen
Sep 17, 2003, 11:02 AM
The nice thing about the missing sync is it has plug ins for itunes and iphoto. That way you can export your music or pics very easily.