PDA

View Full Version : Panther Q and A




MacRumors
Sep 18, 2003, 09:41 AM
ThinkSecret provides (http://www.thinksecret.com/news/pantherreader.html) some Q&A on Panther from reader emails.



kishba
Sep 18, 2003, 12:21 PM
i was particularly alarmed to find that apple still has not implemented spring loaded folders in the dock.

that request has existed for as long as file labels/colors :-p

cspace
Sep 18, 2003, 01:48 PM
i'm excited about Panther, but i was hoping they were going to ditch the ._ turd files and the .DS_Store files. they make it a pain to co-exist with Windows. i thought i heard these were going away...guess not.

simX
Sep 18, 2003, 02:10 PM
Originally posted by cspace
i'm excited about Panther, but i was hoping they were going to ditch the ._ turd files and the .DS_Store files. they make it a pain to co-exist with Windows. i thought i heard these were going away...guess not.

I believe that Apple has solved this problem by just not using them at all when connecting to servers in the Finder. At least that's what I heard from the forums at AppleInsider, but I myself have no access to Panther developer builds.

cspace
Sep 18, 2003, 03:41 PM
thx simX,
i hadn't thought of that, but it seems like a reasonable solution...

mac15
Sep 18, 2003, 06:05 PM
Originally posted by kishba
i was particularly alarmed to find that apple still has not implemented spring loaded folders in the dock.

I've been hanging for that one since 10.0

duffman9000
Sep 18, 2003, 07:54 PM
The real disappointment is not getting a "move" or "cut" command. Come on, just about every O.S. has somekind of move command. And no, drag and drop is not good enough when moving multiple files. What a pain in the rear. Panther is a huge step in the right direction, but why won't
Apple implement this simple feature? All these old time Mac users complain that it isn't needed have their head the sand.
And for god sake's, bring back the same level of contextual menu support OS 9 had. It's been more than 2 years, we've waited long enough.

rainman::|:|
Sep 18, 2003, 10:31 PM
Originally posted by duffman9000
The real disappointment is not getting a "move" or "cut" command. Come on, just about every O.S. has somekind of move command. And no, drag and drop is not good enough when moving multiple files. What a pain in the rear. Panther is a huge step in the right direction, but why won't
Apple implement this simple feature? All these old time Mac users complain that it isn't needed have their head the sand.
And for god sake's, bring back the same level of contextual menu support OS 9 had. It's been more than 2 years, we've waited long enough.

a Move option maybe, but cutting i don't think we'll see. too much chance of users cutting a file, then forgetting to paste it somewhere... or copying over it... multiple clipboards come into play, it's messy...

pnw

Rower_CPU
Sep 18, 2003, 11:38 PM
Move = Command + drag and drop

:D

Branman
Sep 19, 2003, 12:53 AM
Won't the command mv work with it?

whocares
Sep 19, 2003, 02:08 AM
Originally posted by Branman
Won't the command mv work with it?

With CLI sure...


Spring loaded folders in the Dock would be real sweet:rolleyes:

panphage
Sep 19, 2003, 02:14 AM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Move = Command + drag and drop

:D

Command + drag and drop = Two open windows. A move command = one open window.

MacBandit
Sep 19, 2003, 02:29 AM
Originally posted by panphage
Command + drag and drop = Two open windows. A move command = one open window.

Apple+C, Apple-Delete, Apple+V. That does your move command with only one extra key combination since you already have the file selected to copy.

mahakali
Sep 19, 2003, 03:53 AM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Move = Command + drag and drop

:D
You don't need to press command to move items in the same HD. Drag n drop is enough.

To move from 1 HD to another (similar to cut and paste) hold down command-shift when drag-dropping.

Hugin777
Sep 19, 2003, 05:05 AM
Originally posted by panphage
Command + drag and drop = Two open windows. A move command = one open window.

hehe - not with Exposť :p

Select files, drag to "expose application windows" hot corner (to show all Finder windows/folders), drag to wanted folder :) (as I understand it - I haven't tried Panther yet)


(edit: dang! I just realized I misunderstood - if you only want one single folder window open at any time Exposť isn't helping there :mad: I would try the above mentioned Cmd-C, Cmd-Backspace, Cmd-V)

Hugin777
Sep 19, 2003, 05:12 AM
Originally posted by mahakali
You don't need to press command to move items in the same HD. Drag n drop is enough.

To move from 1 HD to another (similar to cut and paste) hold down command-shift when drag-dropping.

Well...

1) It doesn't hurt pressing Command when dragging to the same partition. So pressing Command just guarantees a move.

2) You don't need to press Shift ;) AFAIK

duffman9000
Sep 19, 2003, 08:39 AM
Originally posted by MacBandit
Apple+C, Apple-Delete, Apple+V. That does your move command with only one extra key combination since you already have the file selected to copy.

Doesn't work in Panther, the file is deleted and cannot be retrieved from the clipboard.
We're stick stuck in the past.
No spring loaded folders in the Dock in Panther.

Hugin777
Sep 19, 2003, 08:53 AM
Originally posted by duffman9000
Doesn't work in Panther, the file is deleted and cannot be retrieved from the clipboard.
We're stick stuck in the past.
No spring loaded folders in the Dock in Panther.

Hmm. Ok. Doesn't seem to work in Jaguar either :) So it is a limitation if you only want one folder open at a time (I always open a lot, possibly closing the parent (with the Option key) when opening a sub-folder).

Are spring loaded folders in the Dock necessary when you have Exposť ? Can't you just place the desired folders on the Desktop ?

X-Baz
Sep 19, 2003, 08:58 AM
Originally posted by duffman9000
The real disappointment is not getting a "move" or "cut" command. Come on, just about every O.S. has somekind of move command.
Taken from the
User Interface Hall of Shame (http://digilander.libero.it/chiediloapippo/Engineering/iarchitect/explore.htm)


The basic problem is that the commands do not operate the same manner as the same commands in all other applications. For example, select an amount of text in a text editor and select Cut; the selected text is removed from the document. On the other hand, select a file in Explorer and select Cut; the file is still there! The operation has no effect until you select Paste at some later time.

It would work if Cut moved the files to a specialist "Clipboard" folder. Then Pasting would move whatever was in the clipboard folder to the selected folder. In fact, thinking about it, the "Clipboard" folder could hold everything - text fragments or images or whatever - replacing an in-memory clipboard. The user could move things into or out of the Clipboard using standard file-semantics, or using Cut/Copy/Paste semantics. Sweet.

F/reW/re
Sep 19, 2003, 09:30 AM
Originally posted by X-Baz

It would work if Cut moved the files to a specialist "Clipboard" folder. Then Pasting would move whatever was in the clipboard folder to the selected folder. In fact, thinking about it, the "Clipboard" folder could hold everything - text fragments or images or whatever - replacing an in-memory clipboard. The user could move things into or out of the Clipboard using standard file-semantics, or using Cut/Copy/Paste semantics. Sweet.
You shouldn't take examples from Windows 95, thats old stuff!
In XP the file you cut goes grey so you clearly see that something has happend. If you dont paste it in somewhere else, the icon goes normal again. If you do paste it in somewhere else it goes away.

X-Baz
Sep 19, 2003, 10:10 AM
Originally posted by F/reW/re
You shouldn't take examples from Windows 95, thats old stuff!
In XP the file you cut goes grey so you clearly see that something has happend. If you dont paste it in somewhere else, the icon goes normal again. If you do paste it in somewhere else it goes away.
It does that in 95 as well (although not as well as XP).

The issue isn't the visual feedback, it's the inconsistent use of a well understood metaphor.

The question is what defines "you have not pasted it" so it returns to normal?
1) When you cut/copy something else? Under normal clipboard semantics that would replace the files on the clipboard (in other words, deleting them), however, under the "file-clipboard" semantics, it "uncuts" them - inconsistent.
2) after a period of time or inactivity? how long? Again, totally different behaviour to the clipboard everywhere else.
3) i can't think of any other ways :-)

The point of the (admittedly old) UI Hall of Shame article is that if you understand the clipboard in MS Word, then why should you have to then learn how it works in MS Explorer. One of the advantages of using a GUI is the consistency across applications it is supposed to give you.

depakote
Sep 19, 2003, 11:39 AM
when do you guys think we will see Panther? Steve just said by the end of the year at the keynote right?

Rower_CPU
Sep 19, 2003, 11:44 AM
Originally posted by mahakali
You don't need to press command to move items in the same HD. Drag n drop is enough.

To move from 1 HD to another (similar to cut and paste) hold down command-shift when drag-dropping.

The shift key is not necessary when moving items between volumes.

duffman9000
Sep 19, 2003, 03:09 PM
Originally posted by X-Baz
Taken from the
User Interface Hall of Shame (http://digilander.libero.it/chiediloapippo/Engineering/iarchitect/explore.htm)



It would work if Cut moved the files to a specialist "Clipboard" folder. Then Pasting would move whatever was in the clipboard folder to the selected folder. In fact, thinking about it, the "Clipboard" folder could hold everything - text fragments or images or whatever - replacing an in-memory clipboard. The user could move things into or out of the Clipboard using standard file-semantics, or using Cut/Copy/Paste semantics. Sweet.

If used from the Finder, i'd prefer the command be called move because that's what you're doing, moving files. I wonder if anyone has every tried to implement this into OS X? There is a contextual menu folder in the Library folder. There is no better way to move multiple files quickly and with ONE hand. :P

snofseth
Sep 20, 2003, 11:56 AM
will they have a family pack of panther like for 5 macs? I hope so

MacBandit
Sep 20, 2003, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by snofseth
will they have a family pack of panther like for 5 macs? I hope so

They had a family pack for Jaguar for 3 for $199. I could be wrong about the quantity or price but they did have a family pack when Jaguar came out.

Rower_CPU
Sep 20, 2003, 01:37 PM
5 Macs

Jaguar Family Pack (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/71606/wo/mwIGssJXCgTp2ZgHUyfHkNEjhhO/1.3.0.5.10.3.11.13.0) - scroll down to the bottom

The url might expire (WebObjects).

MacBandit
Sep 20, 2003, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
5 Macs

Jaguar Family Pack (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/71606/wo/mwIGssJXCgTp2ZgHUyfHkNEjhhO/1.3.0.5.10.3.11.13.0) - scroll down to the bottom

The url might expire (WebObjects).

Thank you I looked for that but I guess I have my blinders on today.

FredAkbar
Sep 20, 2003, 04:12 PM
Originally posted by depakote
when do you guys think we will see Panther? Steve just said by the end of the year at the keynote right?
Yeah Steve said end of the year...I'm thinking it'll be done by mid to late October.