PDA

View Full Version : wifi peer to peer network w/ one pc/ one mac?

JSRockit
Sep 22, 2003, 06:11 PM
Has anyone set up a wi-fi peer to peer network using one PC laptop and one Mac laptop? I have a PC laptop hooked up to a cable modem (via ethernet cable) and was wondering how I can share the modem with my mac via wifi?

Hugin777
Sep 22, 2003, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by JSRockit
Has anyone set up a wi-fi peer to peer network using one PC laptop and one Mac laptop? I have a PC laptop hooked up to a cable modem (via ethernet cable) and was wondering how I can share the modem with my mac via wifi?

I've got no experience with WiFi, and don't know whether peer to peer works or you need an access point. But maybe you should try to connect the Mac to the cable modem and share the internet connection from the Mac ?

JSRockit
Sep 22, 2003, 06:59 PM
Originally posted by Hugin777
maybe you should try to connect the Mac to the cable modem and share the internet connection from the Mac ?

That seems to be everyone's answer...perhaps I need to go to a PC site to find the opposite answer. My Mac is in my studio, my PC is my internet computer...so I need the Mac in my studio...even if it is 7 feet away...it is a different room.

Hugin777
Sep 22, 2003, 07:08 PM
That seems to be everyone's answer...perhaps I need to go to a PC site to find the opposite answer. My Mac is in my studio, my PC is my internet computer...so I need the Mac in my studio...even if it is 7 feet away...it is a different room.

Well, there are probably not that many people here who enjoy setting up Windows ;-)

Which version of Windows do you have ?

Can the two machines see each other via WiFi ? Ping ?

Hugin777
Sep 22, 2003, 07:13 PM

If I were you I would try the simplest possible way to check if it's at all possible. So, before attempting to share the connection from Windows, I would try to share it from OS X. If that worked I would try to persuade Windows to do the same trick...

JSRockit