PDA

View Full Version : Networking a G5 & G3 via a hub?


Skaught
Sep 26, 2003, 09:10 AM
Another question. I want to connect the G5 to my G3 so I can start transfering files to the new machine. I can connect my laptop to the G3 fine (both with OS9). I turn on file sharing on the G3, I open Appletalk on the laptop, enter the IP address for the G3, log in, and I'm there.

However, OSX looks different where Appletalk is concerned. Any help on this?

Also, I should be able to connect through a Ethernet hub, right? I don't need to directly connect the machines with a crossover cable to make it work do I?

Thanks!

Scott

OKComputer
Sep 26, 2003, 09:33 AM
have you ever tried firewire target disk mode? You dont need to connect the computers directly. OSX is very simple for Appletalk and file sharing. Just go to the system prefs tab and click on the sharing folder. open up apple talk and file sharing. Then under finder go to "go" then connect to server. In that window all the networked computers should show up

tomf87
Sep 26, 2003, 10:09 AM
No crossover is needed. Just use any ethernet cable and the G5 will autosense and link up.