Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GregE

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 28, 2007
Hey all,

I'm new to Mac and am waiting on my iMac 2.8GHz 24" to arrive. It should be here Thursday and I already have received my memory upgrade from OWC. I would like to use it to create DVD's of my home movies I took. I currently have a Sony HDR-HC7 so I know I can connect it right to the iMac. One question I have about that is will I need to buy a 4 pin to 6 pin firewire cable or did one come with my HC7?

I also have Hi8 tapes that I need to get into my iMac. I still have the camera I took them on so I can play them with it but it won't connect to the iMac. I've been reading the forum and have found the Elgato EyeTV 250 Plus and the Canopus ADVC55 from that. One of those is probably my best bet to import my Hi8 tapes, right? I know I could use the Elgato after to watch TV on my iMac so that is a plus. Is there any difference in the quality of the captured video using these? I'm trying to decide which to get.

Thanks

Greg

Super Macho Man

macrumors 6502a
Jul 24, 2006
Hollywood, CA
One question I have about that is will I need to buy a 4 pin to 6 pin firewire cable or did one come with my HC7?
You would probably know better than anyone on Macrumors what your camera came with...

I also have Hi8 tapes that I need to get into my iMac. I still have the camera I took them on so I can play them with it but it won't connect to the iMac. I've been reading the forum and have found the Elgato EyeTV 250 Plus and the Canopus ADVC55 from that. One of those is probably my best bet to import my Hi8 tapes, right? I know I could use the Elgato after to watch TV on my iMac so that is a plus. Is there any difference in the quality of the captured video using these? I'm trying to decide which to get.