Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

redrabbit

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 8, 2006
Hi. I'm an amateur student photographer who is studying photography. I have never sold photos, besides what photos of mine are used in the school paper. I shot some photos some time ago at a bike race that passed through our town and put them on flickr. Just recently, one of the sponsors of the racers contacted me and asked if they could use the photo in their marketing campaign. I really have no idea what to do from here and how this stuff works. How much should I charge? What's the next step? Any advice or things to watch out for? Thank you.

Grimace

macrumors 68040
Feb 17, 2003
with Hamburglar.
You want to get it in there so it might make sense to be reasonable with them. I'd recommend an amount under $100. But it's hard to say.

It's a lot better to get it in there and have it to show off than to make $20 extra bucks (in my view.) Not knowing the specifics, I'd ask for $75, your name in small print crediting you, and a free copy of the publication.

MacNoobie

macrumors 6502a
Mar 15, 2005
Colorado
There's a calculator online to figure out editorial cost and how much to charge for your image depending on the size of the page and how many runs etc. I probably wouldnt charge what the calculator says you can try but definitely dont sell the shot for like $10. The other thing you might try if you're trying to get more serious about about photography is to say ok I'll give you the shot use it for the promotions BUT the photo has to have my info as credit like a name and phone or email address.. maybe something along the lines of Photo by: so and so - ###.###.#### or email addy.

Anyways best of luck on the photo! I know how exciting it is to have someone approach you for use of a photo you took!