Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SolracSelbor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 26, 2007
As you can tell I am new to dSLR, but I have heard a lot of people saying that they sell their pictures. Im not looking to get into "trying" to sell my pictures anytime soon due to lack of experience and skill, however i would like to know how you go about selling your photos and actually making money. Like do you have an agent, or do you sell them on shutterstock.com or the like. Where do you begin?

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
It took me a few years to start making money out of photography, and I'm still just 'scraping by'. :)

There are 101 ways to generate a pro or semi-pro career... and all of them pre-suppose that you can shoot saleable/publishable pix at every time of asking. So you will have a lot to learn. I'm not trying to be negative, merely pointing out that there's a lot of competition out there. Good luck...

marclapierre13

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2005
As a amateur/ semi pro, I would suggest places like fairs, as in craft fairs, and what not. I used to enter them a while ago when I was doing some other crafts, and I am considering next year going in the Christmas one to enter some Christmas cards, and postcards, and framed pictures.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
Merely from personal experience I never really put a tremendous amount of effort into selling anything. I'm a bad salesperson and frankly it's never been a direction which I wanted to take. However, what has typically happened is I would give prints to people like close co-workers and that has turned into a couple events, some family portraits, senior portraits, and a couple of weddings. I've had some prints in a fair and have sold from that fair, that is where the flattery really came from because those were complete strangers who never met me until I sold them their print.