PDA

View Full Version : mp4s that play on atv AND PS3




wmealer
Dec 12, 2007, 04:14 PM
I've been playing around getting my PS3 to see my iMac's movies/pictures/music via Elgato's EyeConnect software (useful little program, by the way)...

The music and pictures work great, but has anyone had any luck finding a way to encode mp4s that are reliably playable on BOTH :apple:tv AND PS3? I have over 200 movies encoded for :apple:tv. Anyone know of a way to make them all playable on PS3? I've found that some work already, but not all. All were encoded with either VisualHub or Handbrake, but I can't detect a pattern. Some of both will play on PS3, and some of both will not.

I'd love to be able to move my :apple:tv to the bedroom, keep the PS3 in the living room, and stream all my movies to either machine. I'd hate to have to re-encode just for PS3, effectively doubling my library in the process...



Consultant
Dec 12, 2007, 05:56 PM
PS3 might require files of lower quality, so you might have to encode with that setting.

jaw04005
Dec 12, 2007, 09:12 PM
1. Open the MPEG-4 file generated by Visual Hub or Handbrake in QuickTime Pro.
2. Export the file using the "Movie to MPEG 4" setting.
3. Select options.
4. Select MP4 (not MP4 ISMA)
5. Under Video, use "Pass through" as the video format.
6. Under Sound, use "Pass through" as the sound format.
7. Export.

Your newly created will most likely now work on your PS3. The PS3 requires MPEG-4 files to have specific header information.

Yvan256
Dec 13, 2007, 08:05 AM
I also need to "re-export" my MPEG-4 files with QuickTime Pro in order for them to work on my Nintendo Play-Yan micro.

I'm also not sure why my Handbrake encodes won't play directly... But since there's no re-encoding involved, it's just one more step to do and it's fast.

wmealer
Dec 13, 2007, 08:32 AM
1. Open the MPEG-4 file generated by Visual Hub or Handbrake in QuickTime Pro.
2. Export the file using the "Movie to MPEG 4" setting.
3. Select options.
4. Select MP4 (not MP4 ISMA)
5. Under Video, use "Pass through" as the video format.
6. Under Sound, use "Pass through" as the sound format.
7. Export.

Your newly created will most likely now work on your PS3. The PS3 requires MPEG-4 files to have specific header information.

Yeah, thanks for the reply. That's one of the first things I saw on the net and tried... still doesn't work for my PS3, and I have the latest firmware (2.01).

KettyKrueger
Dec 20, 2007, 02:05 PM
I have the same problem.

The QTPro trick doesn't work for me either.

Anyone got any ideas? Can I just edit my mp4 files instead of encoding them again?

Thanks.

spreadthin
Jan 14, 2008, 10:31 PM
I'm finding that if I encoded video in handbrake with the Apple TV setting, it wont play on ps3. When i try this QT pro trick it doesn't work. I just wasted 25 dollars. but the good news seems to be...video encoded in handbrake with the PS3 setting, plays fine on PS3 and Apple TV. I really don't want to go back and re-encode but at least if we have to it will work on both. Does anybody have any way to keep me from a re-encode? PLEASE>>>

Digitalflick
Jan 15, 2008, 01:34 PM
I'm finding that if I encoded video in handbrake with the Apple TV setting, it wont play on ps3. When i try this QT pro trick it doesn't work. I just wasted 25 dollars. but the good news seems to be...video encoded in handbrake with the PS3 setting, plays fine on PS3 and Apple TV. I really don't want to go back and re-encode but at least if we have to it will work on both. Does anybody have any way to keep me from a re-encode? PLEASE>>>

Try out the new version of Twonkyvision (http://www.twonkymedia.com/)

tbone7467
Jan 15, 2008, 05:00 PM
I dont have a AppleTV as of yet, but i do have an iPhone an a PS3. I use a software called allok to do my converting. it has preset rates for the iPhone and PS3 and AppleTV also. might check out that to see if there is anything similar in the preset settings for both then encode at that. I noticed that thare certain resolutions and frame rates the iPhone doesnt like. I am thinking that that could be the case with the AppleTV. It could be that the screen size isnt a standard size. I know the PS3 is picky about that. I read somewhere that the screen size had to be a multiple of 8 or 16. I encode mine to 720x480 with high frame rate and high sample rate.