PDA

View Full Version : failed hdd in ibook; what to do?

homeshire
Dec 20, 2007, 10:31 AM
i have hands on an ibook with specs as below. the hdd has failed and will not boot. i am way too stupid to hunt down a replacement hdd. i have zero experience here. could someone tell me a good replacement? don't need top of the line, just want to get the book functioning again. the failed drive is a hitachi ic25n060atmr04-0.

thanks

Eidorian
Dec 20, 2007, 10:32 AM
You really don't want to open up an iBook.

Cave Man
Dec 20, 2007, 12:11 PM
Here's a nice one (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148130) (ATA-6 interface). But Eidorian's right - replacing an HD in an iBook isn't for the uninitiated. I did it once and it took me two hours. If you decide to do it, be sure you have no distractions for the duration and get yourself an ice cube rack to put screws in from each step of the process. Here's a good walk-through (http://www.faqintosh.com/risorse/en/guides/hw/ibook/g4hd/) (only 57 pages long). Let us know how it goes.

geissap
Dec 20, 2007, 12:21 PM
Indeed. Taking off the top case and bottom case with no experience is a bear. Apple using a special nylon tool to do it. It can be done but it's not an easy repair by any means. Apple will replace it for about 300 bucks. I'd say just go with Apple. Or buy your own HD and find a third party to put it in for you.

FJ218700
Dec 20, 2007, 12:30 PM
Indeed. Taking off the top case and bottom case with no experience is a bear. Apple using a special nylon tool to do it. It can be done but it's not an easy repair by any means. Apple will replace it for about 300 bucks. I'd say just go with Apple. Or buy your own HD and find a third party to put it in for you.