PDA

View Full Version : Make a photomosaic


MacBytes
Dec 23, 2007, 01:06 PM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: Tips and How To's
Link: Make a photomosaic (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20071223140645)
Description:: The other day I came across a tutorial on how to make a photomosaic using Leopard's cool new photomosaic screensaver. While the title sounded intriguing, unfortunately what it eventually boiled down to was to take a screenshot of the mosaic when it resolves. Pretty lame. The resolution on such a screen grab would not be high-res enough to use for printing, and you'd have hardly any control over the final result. Assuming you actually liked the person you would be making the mosaic for, this could only end in disappointment.

To that end, I have a relatively cheap way to create a high quality photomosaic, suitable for framing and gift giving (in fact, the most expensive part will be the frame). From my experience, this is an especially popular gift amongst moms, and in fact I am making one this year for my sister-in-law, who I drew in our family Christmas grab bag

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by Mudbug

zap2
Dec 23, 2007, 01:59 PM
Cool....I'm trying it...just for fun, we'll see how it turns out soon(ish)

RichP
Dec 23, 2007, 05:11 PM
Cool....I'm trying it...just for fun, we'll see how it turns out soon(ish)

same here...my first attempt it failed.. you really need a LARGE library of images to give it enough diversity.

t0mat0
Dec 23, 2007, 07:31 PM
I'm just remembering the iTunes Music CD Core Video demo, and wondering - could you code something to do a dynamic version of a mosaic?, then render an output when required? I'd love to start getting into coding, or see what's involved in such prjects, but don't know where to start wrt this sort of project.

Nadav
Dec 23, 2007, 10:07 PM
I dont understand why it takes this application so long to do just one photo, when i could have all my photos do this quicker in the screensaver.

shadowfax
Dec 24, 2007, 12:19 AM
I dont understand why it takes this application so long to do just one photo, when i could have all my photos do this quicker in the screensaver.

I would imagine that it processes every image to get an idea of the average color and maybe even some notion of shape. In any case, I am sure it is processing every single image in your library, which I would imagine could take some time. I would hope that the thing would store data about your library in some intermediate form so that it only has to process it initially once.

Anyway, that is just my guess.

Nadav
Dec 26, 2007, 09:37 AM
I would imagine that it processes every image to get an idea of the average color and maybe even some notion of shape. In any case, I am sure it is processing every single image in your library, which I would imagine could take some time. I would hope that the thing would store data about your library in some intermediate form so that it only has to process it initially once.

Anyway, that is just my guess.

But why can the screensaver do it that much faster and look good. This failed both times I tried it.