PDA

View Full Version : ipod non mounting...how to restore?


crap freakboy
Oct 4, 2003, 07:19 AM
I've done a search of the forums but cant find a thread that matches my iPod problem exactly, so before I send it in for repair/replacement under warranty thought I'd see if the combined knowledge here can come up with any solutions.
Right, it's a 4 month old 15gb iPod with dock and it wont show up in iTunes or the Finder on my iMacdv 400 running latest 10.2.8 . Even though I've trawled various forums, including Apple Support, I can't seem to find a way to restore it if it doesnt mount. Here are the things I've tried:

1) repairing OS permissions.
2) fsck in single user mode.
3) mac janitor.
4) running Disk Utility, doesnt show up.
5) Go to folder/volumes...no show.
6) Terminal- /mount.
7) Restarting Mac while iPod FW plugged in.
8) Resetting ipod, then pressing FF and RR which shows a 'tick' icon with 'ok to disconnect underneath rather than 'Do not disconnect'.
9) just resetting serveral times.
10) Using my wifes dual G4 at work- same no mounting issues.
11) iSync- shows in the menu but doesnt update due to 'cannot find device'- odd.
12) Testing both FW ports on iMac using Lacie d2 ext.drive and Sony DV camcorder...ports work fine for these two.
13) Checking all connection for dirt- clean as a whistle.
14) Pressing a multitude of buttons on the iPod, longshot I know.
15) Running the battery down.

Well, thats all i can remember of the things I tried. Weird thing is that it recharges. Any suggestions would be gratefully recieved. Hopefully they won't repair it but replace it with a new 20gb...fingers crossed.

big
Mar 25, 2005, 09:43 AM
I think it's Apple's latest Firewire bug they have released.... does your iPod work in USB? Mine does, just not firewire, annoying, as it worked prior to updates...

Blue Velvet
Mar 25, 2005, 09:59 AM
Try turning off all the equipment, unplugging the Mac from the wall for 15 mins than reconnecting and restarting everything.

This seems to have helped many external FW HD users here.

Give it a shot... nothing to lose.

Bear
Mar 25, 2005, 11:10 AM
I think it's Apple's latest Firewire bug they have released.... does your iPod work in USB? Mine does, just not firewire, annoying, as it worked prior to updates...Post useful suggestions, not just your nay saying.

840quadra
Mar 25, 2005, 12:04 PM
is your ipod not running correctly by itself?


You may want to try to do a disk scan on the Ipod. It will check for disk errors and will also report back with its findings.

If possible, take your Ipod in to an apple store (if one is nearby) they may be able to offer assistance since this Ipod is still somewhat new..

Regarads,

840quadra