Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Blitton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 26, 2007
I am new to FCE and am coming from working in a Windows environment. I am struggling and considering sending my iMac back! It seems like nothing is as easy as Pinnacle Studio. In particular I am trying to add jpg photo files into my project. Is this possible, if so - HELP! I really want to learn this.

Blitton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 26, 2007
Read Manual

DH, I did read through manual but it is not clear to me. Maybe I am just too frustrated. I tried to import and I can see the photos folder but it will not open.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!

dengar169

macrumors member
Sep 20, 2007
Jpegs

If I recall, all I had to do was drag pictures into my project bin for FCE. It is actually really easy to toy with pictures in FCE. I was able to animate paths and morphs w/ my jpegs on the first go. I would recommend buying a book on Final Cut at Borders. The one by Tomy Wolsky is pretty good, and on the cheaper side ;) Good luck! Don't send that iMac back. If so send it on over and I'll give it a good home:D

ppc_michael

Apr 26, 2005
Los Angeles, CA
Importing your pictures should be as easy as importing any other file. Cmd+I to open the Import dialog, and select your picture.

Alternatively you could drag the picture from a finder window into the project files window.

Blitton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 26, 2007
It Works!

Thank you both! I was able to bring pictures in by dragging and also using command I. I just need a FCE for dummies book that gives me some instruction.
Thanks again!

huntercr

macrumors 65816
Jun 6, 2006
Thank you both! I was able to bring pictures in by dragging and also using command I. I just need a FCE for dummies book that gives me some instruction.
Thanks again!